Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Crazy Harddrive Mod

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-02, 07:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
Question Crazy Harddrive Mod


ok i was wondering if it was possible to take a regualr computer harddrive and hook it up to a laptop cause my laptop harddrive took a poop and ic ant afford the laptop prices i mean maybe i can hook up a 13.6 to the laptop or sumtin anyone have any ideas on how to do that ??????????????
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-02, 12:10 AM   #2
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
I'm pretty sure you can do that, but the PC HD wouldn't fit in your laptop.

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-02, 01:05 AM Thread Starter   #3
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
id make its own box lol and run the cable out thing is how do i power up the harddrive and i dont think the cabels are the same LOL
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-02, 05:38 AM   #4
NTX-Zoner
Member

 
NTX-Zoner's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: City of the Evil Empire, Washington

 
Laptops run standard IDE. You can actually find converters for a standard PC to use laptop drives. You might be able to customize one to work the other way around. You can find the kits around. http://www.geishapc.com/212lapdrivto.html
NTX-Zoner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-02, 02:49 PM   #5
drunkmonkey
Member

 
drunkmonkey's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

 
yeah, there are converters that turn the laptop ide into a molex connector and standard IDE cable.
drunkmonkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-02, 03:15 PM Thread Starter   #6
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
hmm i found converters to hook up laptop harddrive to a desktop but i ahvent found a converter to hook up desktop harddrive to laptop ODES ANYONE KNOW WERE I CAN GET THIS CONVERTER?
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-02, 11:42 PM   #7
Crazy Jayhawk

 
Crazy Jayhawk's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hutchinson, KS

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by DECODER22
hmm i found converters to hook up laptop harddrive to a desktop but i ahvent found a converter to hook up desktop harddrive to laptop ODES ANYONE KNOW WERE I CAN GET THIS CONVERTER?
I doubt such a thing exists.

You'll probably have to build your own.

Crazy Jayhawk is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-13-02, 11:54 PM   #8
minoukat
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

10 Year Badge
 
get the "laptop-to-desktop" adapter and use it the other way around

__________________
The only thing you should expect is the unexpected.
minoukat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-02, 07:29 PM   #9
FeralCom
Member

 
FeralCom's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

 
I have 2 of the laptop to desktop adapters, but I have never seen any the other way around.

They use to have an adapter that would allow you to attach a drive via the PCMCIA slots. Most laptops have a BIOS setting where you can choose to boot from the PCMCIA.

1. Attach the drive to the PCMCIA Slots
2. Select Boot from PCMCIA in the BIOS
3. Tape the drive to the top cover (heh).
FeralCom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-02, 09:11 PM   #10
NTX-Zoner
Member

 
NTX-Zoner's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: City of the Evil Empire, Washington

 
I talked to a friend, and he does not think that they exist either, but, if you pick one up and modify the conectors on the laptop drive end to match that of the dead HDD, it should work.

__________________

.............MSI MS-6380 Pro............Asus VIA KT133A................K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI
...........AMD XP 1600 @ stock.....AMD Athlon 900.................AMD 64 4000 @ 2520
.........512MB DDR 2100..........512MB PC 133..................1GB OCZ Plat EL 3200
.......Win Xp Pro.................Win XP Pro......................Win XP Pro
.....Stable......................Stable...........................Stable

:beer: :bday: :beer: :bday: :beer:
[maniacal laughter] Its alive!! Its alive!!! [/maniacal laughter]
NTX-Zoner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-02, 09:12 PM Thread Starter   #11
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
how do i hook the drive up to the pcmcia ?????
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-02, 10:36 PM   #12
FeralCom
Member

 
FeralCom's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

 
I will dig around the web and see if I can find what I am talking about. May be hard because this was a few years ago before everything went USB. You use to be able to find backup kits that had the connector. You might even be able to find an old external IDE device that has the connection. Kinda like the old backpack CD-ROMs that had a PCMCIA card attached to them.
FeralCom is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-02, 01:13 AM   #13
Robbie
Member

 
Robbie's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: A hot spot in Ca

10 Year Badge
 
Get a usb hard drive!!!

Rob

__________________
Don't just stand there and shout it...... do something about it!! (M.L. Gore)

Challenge me and I'll make you think, but alas you don't want to........ your a lazy god.
Gone blue how about you?!?!
Robbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-15-02, 02:04 AM   #14
NTX-Zoner
Member

 
NTX-Zoner's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: City of the Evil Empire, Washington

 
USB hdd will work, but be dirt slow. If it was the second drive in the system, that should be fine, but as the boot drive with USB legacy enabled (so you could boot to it) it would make the system crawl. Firewire would have more acceptable speed, but that would require more expensive hardware and I don't think its boot supported

__________________

.............MSI MS-6380 Pro............Asus VIA KT133A................K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI
...........AMD XP 1600 @ stock.....AMD Athlon 900.................AMD 64 4000 @ 2520
.........512MB DDR 2100..........512MB PC 133..................1GB OCZ Plat EL 3200
.......Win Xp Pro.................Win XP Pro......................Win XP Pro
.....Stable......................Stable...........................Stable

:beer: :bday: :beer: :bday: :beer:
[maniacal laughter] Its alive!! Its alive!!! [/maniacal laughter]
NTX-Zoner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-02, 02:42 AM Thread Starter   #15
DECODER22
Disabled

 
DECODER22's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago

 
im working on making a desktop harddrive work on it hehe ill let u guys know how it goes ill post pics if i ever finish it heeh
DECODER22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-02, 04:03 PM   #16
Black Hawk
Member

 
Black Hawk's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Petrochemical and Oil Refinery state.

 
Well


What about a DVD-ROM from a Laptop to hook up to a PC? It only has a IDE Ribbon connector, if that helps...
Black Hawk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-02, 02:30 AM   #17
Crazy Jayhawk

 
Crazy Jayhawk's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Hutchinson, KS

10 Year Badge
 
I just realized something - you're going to have to find a 12V source inside the laptop. Desktop hard drives require both 5V and 12V, but laptop ones only need 5V.

Crazy Jayhawk is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Alternative Modding
Alternative Modding Custom Built Cases and Components... Modding to the Extreme
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?