• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

amd tb1.33ghz probs - is it Heat/Voltage/MB?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

brodo

Hi all,

I am quite new to the OC scene, however I have read and read and read many many sites to think I know what I am doing :-}

My system:
--------
-Shuttle Ak11v3.x w/ VIA KT133A
-Athlong T-bird 1.33ghz (266fsb)
-Enermax EG465P-VE FCA (turned up to high apx 3200rpm)
-HSF: Thermaltake Volcano 7
Arctic SilverII on CPU core
-Thermaltake Exhaust Case Fan
-Northbridge has a heatsink and fan (TT orb would not fit due to
resisters in the way)
-Small Pent. Intake Case Fan
-HD fan
---------
Athlon mod:
L1 bridges came factory unlocked
L7 defogged to get max 1.85v
-------- -
WinXp

ok I hope I included everything.

My problem:
If I change the multiplier to 11.0 I can not get past 136FSB. When I say past I mean WinXP booting. I have tried 11.5 which puts me at no more than 133FSB. Anything over 11.5 (12/13/14) I have to start with 100FSB and work up, usually 106-110 before I can not boot.

Let me try to be more specific, I am trying to get over 1480cpu speed and although I would like to OC my FSB I would be happy with a 12x133 or 13x133.
My temps at 11x136 = 109-111ºF (from BIOS to OS idle) and have jumped to 118ºF after say 2 hours of UnrealTourni or TacOps or looping 3Dmarks2k1

I was running lower temps before I changed my voltage, but I thought I could get more than 1.9v to the chip if I made the change. Unfortunately I was wrong. Even if I tell the BIOS to go +.025 I stay at 1.90v. I have also tinkered with giving the FSB more voltage from the default 3.3v to say 3.55v but to no avail.

I get IRQL STOP errors, I sometimes get a black screen, sometimes I will get WinXP to boot and as soon as I receive video or start a SiSoft Sandra benchmark the machine cold boots.