• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help deciding between these 2 boards

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JRoX85

Registered
I am a newb at pc building, making the switch from consoles this xmas.. I will be picking up either an AMD 8320 or 8350 on blk friday and need help deciding between these two.

The majority of my time will be spent on general use, with gaming and streaming video 2nd most. I am looking for best bang for buck and trying to keep numbers to a reasonable amnt as I am a family man and my children come first..

1)http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128514

2)http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131877

The Sabertooth is the better of the two boards and will be better able to handle the heat generated by an FX 8-core chip.

I don't know about the new Rev 4.0 boards but the Rev 3.0 of the Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 doesn't have proper power management settings in the BIOS which leads to CPU throttling down.

With the Sabertooth make sure you go with the Ver 2.0 and not the 3.0. The 3.0 had a bunch of issues out of the box whereas the Ver 2.0 has all of the "bugs" worked out of it.

I own both boards that you are looking at and would choose the Sabertooth over the Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 everyday and twice on Sundays. It is one of three or four boards that I would select for the FX chip.

I agree with Zebodog, while the Gigabyte board is a good board, the different revisions have had some issues when trying to run the Fx 8xxx cpu's. The Sabertooth is tried and true, we have a few members running their 8 series Fx's on it and are pleased with it's performance and ability to run these chips without issue.

Another option, in the same price range as the Fx that we have seen people run the 8xxx on is the Asrock 990fx Extreme 9