• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need help Overclocking my I7-4930k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mustang58lx

Hi everyone I'm new to overclocking this processor and am looking for someone to walk me through the steps and get the best outcome.

is it better to figure out bclock -> Multi. -> Ram settings -> Video card

I'm open to questions and suggestions.

so lets hear your advise or steps to get this done.

My Comp. Specs
ASUS X79-Deluxe
Intel I7-4930k IVY-E LGA 2011
G.Skill DDR3-2666 11-13-13-35 1.65v
EVGA GeFprce GTX 770 classified
Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme AIO water Cooling
Seasonic 80+ Plat. PS
Fractal Design DEFINE R4

Last edited:
Generally better to go through the multiplier first, rather than the base clock. as for how to over clock, google tutorials, and youtube could be of great help. also, over clock conservatively.. i.e. don't go from stock to 4.5ghz. Take baby steps then keep moving forward. I see you have water cooling, so you should have some good headroom there.
And don't forget to stress test. using programs like prime95 to max out the cpu completely as well as other things

Do you have all the monitor and testing programs that you would need to check your OC?? :shrug: ;)

AJ.

Ravik the information I seem to find varies on which way to go.

And from years ago I always maxed the FSB then the Multiplier, I know that base clock
is different than FSB but similar.

AJ I think so.

I have Prime95, CPUID HWMonitor, and Cinebench. Should I get some other programs too?

Thanks

well theres more than way to skin a cat. Overclocking can be done differently. Can it be just as effective? Sure, depends on the hardware and the person performing the over clock ;)
Soon I'll be switching over to liquid cooling. A little nervous about it. But eh.