• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How far can i go ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

1v0rteX

Hey guys,

i want to overclock my FX 8350 BE a bit. The problem is, im totally new to the topic and before i start messing up my computer, i wanted to ask for some advice.

My System:

CPU: FX 8350 BE (currently at stock speed)
MOBO: Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0
Cooler: Noctua NHU9B SE2 (maybe a bit underpowered for big steps in terms of oc?)
Case: Fractal Design Define R4 (installed 5 coolers with 140 mm)

Current Temps on Prime 95: After several hours of full load max 55 C° Socket and on the Cores 37C° if i read it correctly on HW Monitor.

Idle most of the time 28 to max 35 degrees...

So my Question is, are those Temperatures in stock ok and is there any room with my current setup to oc this thing in a way it actually is reasonable?

Best regards,

1v0rteX

Full load max temps we use around here are 70 C° Socket and on the Cores 62C° When viewed in Free HW Monitor.

A mind can do strange things to a person. There was a question I wanted to ask you and then I remembered, that I do not believe I have ever run P95 on an 8 Core FX processor with all the settings as AMD designed the FX to run. As AMD designed the processor to run. Meaning C1/E, C6, TurboCore, Cool N Quiet, APM; all set to Enabled and Windows Power Manager in the "Balanced Mode". So while your were running P95 in Blend test mode, did you happen to notice how many workers/cores were being used to ~100% all the time? Was P95 running in Blend mode, working all 8 cores to 100%?

That is key in guesstimating a little more about "how far can I go". I can give you what are generally considered as max temps and that is not a problem.
RGone...

Thx for the help at first :)