• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to this & Need your help w/ AMd clocking please!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TrafficGoldmine

First of all let me say where in the hell has this forum been all my life :p i can't believe i was unaware of it until just yesterday :p better late than never I suppose! My name is Jon and I am a full time PsyD Student - working as an independent webmaster to pay the bills (i run a few large affiliate networks in various niche's as well as social media marketing service companies)

I have a (getting old) Acer laptop which has literally been one of the best $200 bucks I have ever spent in my life, starting to get over crowded and bogged down. Should I even worry about overclocking, what will this reveal to me in regards to being able to optimize the core of the cpu itself from the ware and tear of the past few years of programming / daily use.

Thanks so much! I appreciate your time & Any responses would be a huge help. I am such a green horn that i am not entirely sure what specs you need from me to give your opinion, but please ask and i will be happy to post the specs of the laptop in full or specifically what you need :)

Welcome, Jon!

Unfortunately, there is little to no overclocking that can be done on laptops. First, the bios lacks tools to do so and second, the cooling is already marginal such that the extra heat produced by overclocking would endanger the machine.

Welcome, Jon!

Unfortunately, there is little to no overclocking that can be done on laptops. First, the bios lacks tools to do so and second, the cooling is already marginal such that the extra heat produced by overclocking would endanger the machine.