Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

TV outlet high-speed internet connection

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-16-02, 05:10 PM Thread Starter   #1
Luie
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA

10 Year Badge
 
TV outlet high-speed internet connection


Can you share internet access to 3 computers from a TV outlet (I think it's called cable)? I've joined COX and they use the TV outlet and not the telephone outlet.

I've never seen this and it is nothing like the telephone outlet IDSL in Hong Kong. I have no clue how to share it to the three of my PCs.

Please help. What sort of switch or hubs do I need?

I would be nice if you can post some site that tells me a bit about it. It would save some effort of typing the whole tutorial to me.

Thanks in advance.

__________________
Click HERE for my Heatware
mobile():
..MacBook Pro 13" 2010
..Droid Razr
network():
..CA.parts.FOR.SALE = Visiontek TV Wonder HD650 + Wii
..WA.apartment = i7 930 + 12GB PC3-12800 + 160GB SSD + 1.5TB HDD + Sapphire HD5770 +Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
..CA.hometown = i5 2500K + 8GB PC3-10600 + 120GB SSD + 3TB HDD + Asus EAH3450 + ASRock Z68 Pro3-M + KWorld ATSC-110 HDTV
imma_Black belt Ubercloxx0r
Luie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-02, 05:30 PM   #2
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
The easiest way to do it, is to get a router, plug the cable into that, then the computers into the router, and set it up that way.

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-02, 09:50 AM Thread Starter   #3
Luie
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA

10 Year Badge
 
Ok, thanks.
I've found alot of information about it on in the libruary.
Yes, the libruary. I've found last month's PC Magazine. It's all about routers and broadband.

__________________
Click HERE for my Heatware
mobile():
..MacBook Pro 13" 2010
..Droid Razr
network():
..CA.parts.FOR.SALE = Visiontek TV Wonder HD650 + Wii
..WA.apartment = i7 930 + 12GB PC3-12800 + 160GB SSD + 1.5TB HDD + Sapphire HD5770 +Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
..CA.hometown = i5 2500K + 8GB PC3-10600 + 120GB SSD + 3TB HDD + Asus EAH3450 + ASRock Z68 Pro3-M + KWorld ATSC-110 HDTV
imma_Black belt Ubercloxx0r
Luie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-02, 11:06 AM   #4
rugby
King of Cats Senior

 
rugby's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Or you could have read my sticky at the top of this forum.

__________________
G4 MDD DP867@DP1ghz

Real men overclock macs with a soldering gun.
rugby is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?