• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

About my MSI 990FXA-GD65

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SjanaWilgani

Registered
First of all,

I would like to introduce myself as I'm new on these forums.
My name is Sjana, I'm 21 year old from England. I work as a head programmer at an Indie Game Company. In my spare time I like to practice Martial Arts, play games and watch Anime.

Here follows my question :)

So I got myself an MSI 990fxa-GD65 and an AMD FX-8150.
When I first got my Motherboard, I had quite some trouble with my CPU throttling down all the time, causing a serious performance loss. So I went into the BIOS, and unchecked all the power saving "features" in the hope to solve this problem. However, the problem remained. So I decided to flash the BIOS to the latest version. This pretty much made my PC unbootable, and I had to reinstall Windows 7. As a result my PC now boots way slower in AHCI mode than in IDE mode, and I have no idea why that is. Also, before the BIOS flash it booted in less than 7 seconds. From completely off to logged in. Now it takes about 20 seconds.

Another problem is that for some reason I can't set my CPU V to more than 1.45, but I managed to get it to 4.2GHz at 1.38 somehow.

Sorry for the terrible layout of my post, I really suck at forums posts.
My question is: Does anyone know why my PC boots slower in AHCI?

Yours,

Sjana.

It shouldn't boot slower in AHCI, that's weird.

I'll ask before the other do :)
Run Prime95 (blend will do for now)and get a screenshot of HWmonitor while Prime 95 runs.

To me, it might be a heat issue as that's what causes most throttling.

HWMonitor Screenshot

Hello, thanks for your reply.
Running Prime95 for 5 minutes in Blend gives these results in HWMonitor:

http://puu.sh/8MewN.png