• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 + Amd FX-9590 Freeze/Unstable

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cld

Registered
hey, i built this machine maybe, ~2 weeks ago, and since day 1, i've had that problem that under CPU stress the machine freezes.

Now, i have no overlocking experience what-so-ever, i manged to get it somewhat more stable by messing with some things like turbo, and performance mode. (i din't dare to touch the voltages)

However during Compiling, which can often take 20+ minutes while having maxed out CPU usage, the machine still generally freezes after 5-15 minutes or so.

MyiLsoq.png dg8vSmw.png
n91PInq.png TKhCQUO.png
aCeHfYo.png uRabowO.png

It1GotI.jpg
wbYxX2B.jpg
4mltfUe.jpg

Last edited:
OMG! My buddy has the same board with an FX-9590 and it's crashing too. It probably just crashed again!
Because Skype is displaying message "There's a problem with this call" as I'm typing!

Welcome to OCF Cld,
A couple things right off the bat, The Sabertooth recommends that the ram be in slots 2 and 4. Then I would add some voltage to the Dram in bios up to 1.55v. See if that helps. I'm having trouble deciphering the ram timings. It says it's an 1866 kit but there isn't a profile for that in the spd tab. Kingston ram hasn't been the friendliest on this platform to date so if the first two things don't help we'll likely need to up the CPU_NB volts a bit.
Now one thing we need to see is some temps and volt so if you could download Prime 95 and HWMonitor free version , then run P95 in blend mode with HWMonitor open to capture the temps. Take a snip and post that up so we can see what's going on.

3d8tCV9.png

It lasts for maybe 30 seconds or so, until it freezes.

What CPU cooler do you have?

Cooler Master Hyper 103 RR-H103-22PB-R1

+ 3 Case Fans.