Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

FPS in UT?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-02, 12:55 AM Thread Starter   #1
TUK101
Member

 
TUK101's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wash. State

10 Year Badge
 
FPS in UT?


I am a little behind the times here. I just started playing UT GOTY edition. I am starting to love the game. It's highly addictive once you get the controls down and used to the extremely fast paced action. What I am wanting to know is how do I find out what my fps are in the game? What commands do I have to type in to get them? I bought the discs used with no documentation to them, so I dont know how to type anything yet either lol. Hopefully I can get my network set up before too long so that I can start haveing a frag fest with my buddies.

__________________
My Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=8937
TUK101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-02, 08:23 AM   #2
alien76
Member

 
alien76's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Slovenija

 
There are two ways to found this out:
1. open the cosole (~) and then write down timedemo 1
or the second one
simply open in menu Tools and then time demo statistic

I am playing UT now for a ten time and i must say it s preety cool!!!

I can t wait for Unreal Episode 2 release and UT2!!!
But i have to buy some new computer staff!!!
See my signature to figure out way!!!

__________________
CPU: Core 2 Quad 9550@3.8 Ghz
Motherboard: Gigabyte EP45-DS3P
Ram: 4GB Mushkin DDR2, 1000 Mhz
HDD: OCZ Vertex 2 60 GB, 2*WD 160 GB, Raid 0
VGA: Gigabyte Radeon 5870, 1Gb.
Cooling: Watercooled!
alien76 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-02, 09:29 PM Thread Starter   #3
TUK101
Member

 
TUK101's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wash. State

10 Year Badge
 
Nope, a 366 celeron isnt much of a cpu nowdays. Although if you were to get a better mobo for say 30 bucks, you should be able to oc that thing to 550 with no problems. Even then, its still not much of a fps buster. UT 2 should be quite the game. I have read a couple of articles on it and I must say that it does look pretty cool.

__________________
My Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=8937
TUK101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-02, 09:38 PM   #4
parot50
Registered

 
parot50's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
awsome game cant wait for the new one

__________________
Celeron 1.2 @ 1404 mhz asus tuv4x (beta bios)
radeon 7500 @ 306/238
512mb pc133
40 gig maxtor 7200 hd
volcano 6cu
creative soundblaster pci
-------------------
Pentium 4 1.8a @ 2074 (so far)
Asus P4S333
Radeon 7500 @ 320/250
60 gig maxtor hd
parot50 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-02, 09:41 PM Thread Starter   #5
TUK101
Member

 
TUK101's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wash. State

10 Year Badge
 
Right on, thanks for the info. Getting 70-75 fps in it. This Radeon seems to work better in UT with this newer driver now.

__________________
My Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=8937
TUK101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-02, 09:47 PM   #6
cornbread
Member

 
cornbread's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The great USA!

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by TUK101
Getting 70-75 fps

Those are pretty good fps in UT. When UT was released it was optimized for the Voodoo cards, which we all know what happened there .

Anyways, good to see your playing one of the best if not the best games ever made. Enjoy.

__________________
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i5-2500 CPU @ 3.30GHz
10GB Memory
ATI Radeon HD 7570
cornbread is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-02, 04:41 AM   #7
-=UR=- Ranger
Member

 
-=UR=- Ranger's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Giessen, Germany

 
I still play UT at every Lan Session I go to...
And I love it....
Nothing better than fraggin your opponent in close Combat with a FLAK CANNON.
-=UR=- Ranger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-02, 05:05 AM   #8
6502kid
Member

 
6502kid's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Peoria Ill

 
UT Rules !

If you really want to stress out your video card and PC, track
down the MoreGore, DecalStay and ClusterRedeemer mods and
max them all out. That will drop your FPS's a bit.....
6502kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-02, 08:03 PM Thread Starter   #9
TUK101
Member

 
TUK101's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wash. State

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah, I know that UT was designed to run best with a Voodoo based card. The game was designed in OpenGL if I am not mistaken, and runs best with Glide enabled. I have a Voodoo 5 and was thinking of putting it in to see how UT runs with that card. Where would I find the More Gore mod, and the other ones that were listed a few posts back? I'll try the UT site and see if it is there, but if not, anybody have a link?

__________________
My Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=8937
TUK101 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-02, 01:52 AM   #10
6502kid
Member

 
6502kid's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Peoria Ill

 
One of these sites should have the mods somewheres...

Lots of cool DM maps also.


For more information on BDC Clan visit:

http://www.bdcclan.com
http://www.bdc-west.com
6502kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-24-02, 03:25 AM   #11
IcarusFalling
Disabled

 
IcarusFalling's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

 
If you love UT (what mortal man doesn't?) You have to go check out this site.

www.planetunreal.com

that site has more info and add-ons and news about UT and UT mods than anyother site I've found.
IcarusFalling is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-24-02, 09:49 AM   #12
It_The_Cow
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Indiana

10 Year Badge
 
Does anyone know how to make the FPS statistics stay permanently?
It_The_Cow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-24-02, 04:11 PM   #13
CSaddict
Member

 
CSaddict's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CT, USA

 
Hard to believe that no one plays the Tactical ops add on for UT. Its really quite good and if you like UT and CS you'll love T.O. Try it out!
CSaddict is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-02, 12:03 AM   #14
IcarusFalling
Disabled

 
IcarusFalling's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

 
I used to play Tac Ops, didn't like it too much. really weird setup.

But meh, to each his own.
IcarusFalling is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-02, 08:27 PM   #15
6502kid
Member

 
6502kid's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Peoria Ill

 
I've been playing the T.O. some lately, but am getting real
tired of having to setup and buy new guns every 2 minutes.

It should accumulate your cash and only reset weapons and
whatnot when a new map starts up.....
6502kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-02, 08:28 PM   #16
DarK_LotuS
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: California

 
I get about 44-56 FPS

AMD T-Bird 1.4 Gig | 266 FSB | 1.75 volts
ECS K7S5A MotherBoard
Corsair 512 PC-2100 DDR Ram
2x 20 Gig WesternDigital 7200 RPM
GeForce 2 GTS 64 DDR 240/285
SoundBlaster Live w/ 4.1 SurroundSound Speakers
NEC 24x16x40 CD-RW
Pioneer 16x40 DVD
EnerMax 550 Watt PowerSupply
(Both Computer Side Opened Up With A Fat Fan Cooling Everthing Down Along With Six Other Fans Inside)


www.utgmc.com (for the giant map lovers!)
DarK_LotuS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-27-02, 09:43 PM   #17
Deadlifter
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: St. Louis

 
I get about 55-70 fps.

Does anybody with a Radeon 32DDR also get a dramatic FPS drop in some levels, like DarkCityII when you look down from a high sniping point. I've tried various drivers but it seems there are a few textures that don't like to run.
Deadlifter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 04:35 PM   #18
metalhed
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: england

 
FPS woes


I have just bought a new Geforce 2 pro and i have overclocked it slighly and i can now pull 120 fps on Unreal Tournament ne1 got better i love to find out how cause i want to do it !!!!!!!
metalhed is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Games
Games Tips and general discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?