• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help with Installing Ultra Family Drivers

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BSims66173

I'm new to all this puting stuff. I got the dragon+ mb and the xp1700 processor combo. Everything seems to work well but I am not sure how to install the Ultra Family Drivers. After reading the book I have copied the files to a floppy but not sure what it means when it says "when you are into the system install screen, press F6,". What do they mean by system install screen? I am running Windows XP Home Edition.

I have not used the raid option for hdd's, so I cannot be 100% accurate, but for a true raid function with harddrives on ide3/4, you are trying to load the raid drivers from a floppy at the point in question. I believe that point is after detection of harddrives by the promise controller, but before the motherboard starts to check its resources.

As for the promise ultra family drivers ( the ones that let you use other harddrives in a non-raid format on ide 3/4) I copy them to my harddrives off of the soyo disk, then in the OS, if your bios and board jumpers are set correctly, look for a device called a mass storage adapter in the device manager. It should have no driver installed for it,so this is where you are going to install the drivers. Then on the reboot, you will have access to the ide3/4 devices AFTER your OS comes up.

I hope it helps.

When it talks about that I'm sure it means, when your about to install your O.S. cause in XP you have the choice to hit F6. with XP it says hit F6 to install Raid or other third party or something like that.

Klownin79 said: