• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

NEWB. Need help overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

el_duderino

Registered
Hey guys. Heard a lot of good things about this forum and it's members. Just registered, I'm a newbie to overclocking and wondered if you guys could help me overclock my cpu. I tried some stuff out with the voltage and multiplier, didn't workout.
MY PC:
modo- sabertooth 990fx r2.0
cpu/cooler- AMD FX-8350 Black Edition Vishera, with ek waterblock
memory- corsair dominator platinum 1866 16gb(4 sticks of 4gb)
psu- corsair ax1200i
gpu- sapphire VAPOR-X 100362VXSR Radeon R9 290 4GB 512-Bit GDDR5
hdd- 1tb western digital black
ssd- SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD256BW 2.5" 256GB
o/s- win 8.1 pro
case- corsair 900d

Any info or advice will be much appreciated. If you guys need anymore info let me know. Thanks
-Sev

I'll leave the details to the pros, but can point you to a guide you should read while you wait...

1.2KW PSU for that?!

"with ek water block"

How big a rad do you have? Have you monitored package temps while stress testing with say Prime95 blend yet. We use HWMonitor to monitor temps and voltages. You should do this with all frequencies and voltages at stock to make sure the cooling is working properly before you try to overclock.

I have an EK Ultimate Performance CoolStream 480 XTX Series Liquid Cooling Radiator.
No I haven't done prime95 blend with stock setting. I'll do it when I get home from work.
How long should I run the test for?

I'll leave the details to the pros, but can point you to a guide you should read while you wait...

1.2KW PSU for that?!

Ya, I would like to read the guide.
Lol, I got the PSU for a good deal from my friend.

Get us all ON the same page of book and see inside...

...see inside your system way over there.