• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Opinions and help with budget mini gaming pc

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rothery

Registered
Ok I posted earlier about upgrading my brother's pc and now im sort of wanting my own. I'm looking to build the gaming pc from a guide I found online, and I'm really just looking for advice. I'm a complete novice to any and all computer building but I've decided I want to try build my own mini pc.

OK so here is the guide.

http://www.geforce.co.uk/whats-new/guides/geforce-gtx-750-ti-mini-itx-pc-build-guide

Peoples opinions on whether or not this will be a good result when its done would be appreciated. Literally any advice in terms improvements, alternative parts that would be better to use (very much on a tight budget), things I'll need to consider for actually building it, or... Well pretty much all advice would be massively appreciated.

One of my first thoughts is am I going to need a whole 1TB for the hard drive?

Also im considering opting for the Intel Ivy Bridge Core i5-3350P CPU that's also mentioned in the guide. Would that be worth the extra cost? Are there alternatives to that?

we "want" all the storage we can get, but no you do not need 1tb, 250-500 will be fine, you do "want" an ssd for the operating sysem.

Welcome!

You may want to check out this sticky, here on our very own overclockers.com forums. Ignore the specific part recommendations, but the thread does do a good job of walking you through how to build a PC.