• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How can I get someone's IP though CounterStrike?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Über~PhLuBB

Jedi Knight Senior
This half belongs here, half in the games section, but since it has to do with WAN, I figured here is better.

How can I get someone's IP through CounterStrike? I know it can be done, I've had my IP recited to me in game before.

i think you can use somthing like a packet sniffer to see where the packets taht are comeing to your computer are coming from

but im not an expert.

A packet sniffer is a program that finds out where the internet packets are coming from/going to. As for doing it in CS I have no idea.

-DarkArctic

If you're running the server, you can type "status" in the console. Not sure if it'll show IPs if you're only the client, but you can try.

Yakbak said:
If you're running the server, you can type "status" in the console. Not sure if it'll show IPs if you're only the client, but you can try.

That was my first thought, but the person who recited my IP as a threat was not an admin, nor was he on the actual server machine. He wasn't even on LAN, he was just some chump that knows something I don't.

Dark, where can I get a packet sniffer?

just wondering what you were doing (or he thought you were doing) that he would threaten you... I've been booted off servers for being much better than the other players while at the same time they dont bother my brother playing 5 feet from me... so I'm just wondering...

Krieger said:
just wondering what you were doing (or he thought you were doing) that he would threaten you... I've been booted off servers for being much better than the other players while at the same time they dont bother my brother playing 5 feet from me... so I'm just wondering...