Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Anybody else have a JAZ drive that can only use 170mb of storage?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-02, 04:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
el
Senior Member

 
el's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA Capital

10 Year Badge
 
Anybody else have a JAZ drive that can only use 170mb of storage?


I am running xp on two boxes and for some reason I can't use my JAZ drive more than 170mb and then it hangs. could my disks be bad or is it just me. I tried two different drives and about 4disks so I know it isn't hardware must be with the adapter or with the file systems. any help would be great.

__________________
MOBO > Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2 bios
CPU & Cooler > 8350 vishera
MEMORY > Corsair 16gb ddr3
POWER SUPPLY > Corsair 600W CX600
VIDEO CARD > Sapphire 5450 1GB ram
HDDs/Optical drives > 8 drives over 8TB
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > windows 7 Ultimate
Case > Antec P180 with lots of 12cm fans running
el is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-02, 09:36 PM   #2
dreadlord79
Member

 
dreadlord79's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: KC, MO

 
I now this is dumb, but you are using the correct install disk for the Jaz and not one for the Zip right? Have you checked for an update for the Jaz drive for Windows Xp on the Iomega or Microsoft websites? Those are my inital thoughts even though I don't have a Jaz. Hope this helped some how.
dreadlord79 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-02, 09:42 PM   #3
Ice_Gargoylle
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002

 
yup, my zip was crapping out on me, went to the iomega site, sl'd thier drivers, and now it works great AND has cool new icons
Ice_Gargoylle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-02, 11:57 PM Thread Starter   #4
el
Senior Member

 
el's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: USA Capital

10 Year Badge
 
yeah I tried that but I still don't have it working. I'll try again and see if maybe those disks are bad and if other disks work okay.

__________________
MOBO > Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2 bios
CPU & Cooler > 8350 vishera
MEMORY > Corsair 16gb ddr3
POWER SUPPLY > Corsair 600W CX600
VIDEO CARD > Sapphire 5450 1GB ram
HDDs/Optical drives > 8 drives over 8TB
SOUND DEVICE > Onboard
USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
O/S > windows 7 Ultimate
Case > Antec P180 with lots of 12cm fans running
el is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-02, 02:39 AM   #5
Mpegger
Member

 
Mpegger's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC

10 Year Badge
 
Your Jaz drive is kapput, just like mine. It can read about the first 300-350 mbs and thats it. I had tried everything I could think of to get it to work to no avail. I called up the techs at Iomega and described my problem with as much detail and they basically said the drive itself has gone bad. The way to test it is to take your disk and try it in another working Jaz drive. If it reads it fine, then its definetly the drive. My problem is I dont know anyone with a Jaz drive that I could test it in.

Btw, I was also told that it was a problem with alot of Jaz drives, but not enough to cause a recall. If its still under warranty send it out to get fixed.

EDIT: I just re-read your orignal post and noticed that you had the same problem with different drives. I'm not sure what the problem can be now.

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 / ASRock Z97 Extreme4 / i7 4790K @ 4.6 / 32GiB / 780Ti
ESXi server / i7-3770s / 16GiB / 16TB ZFS-z2

-----------------------------
[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

"One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

(Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
Heatware
Mpegger is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?