Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

What a god aweful thing to happen

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-02, 05:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
TripleH
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
What a god aweful thing to happen


Well, I just got my new motherboard yesterday, ECS K7S5A, and i was toying around with it. I lowered the mult. to 9 and cranked the fsb to 133, and restarted and voila!! 1.2ghz from my morgan 1ghz, this morning i wake up and had an idea, "I'll lower the multiplier to 8 and see if i can hit 8*166 just for fun even though i knew i had no chance with my pc133 sdram, so i lowered the mult to 8 rebooted and set the fsb to 138 and i got 1104mhz with decent temps, then tried 150, and booted with decent temps though a bit unstable, so i upped the vcore to 1.85, and when i powered up i went into the bios and looked at the hardware monitor and the temp said 44 and it was only at 800mhz, after this i powered down and set my mult back to 9, and wanted to go back to my original oc from last night, i cleaned off the hsf and cpu and reapplied ASII and powered up and i went into hardware monitor and my temp was 47 so i started to get upset so i removed the side of my case, removed the heatsink only to realize i cracked the core!!!!!!!!!!!! this sux
TripleH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-02, 06:32 PM   #2
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
hah a 1.6A Wouldnt have done that... sometimes spenidng more money is smarter...


but on the other hand. durons are dirt cheap. so go get a new one

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-02, 06:38 PM   #3
repo man11
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
AARRGH! Bummer my friend! As a CPU serial killer, I know how you feel. At least it still works, so youll have a backup when you replace it. It is allways good to have a backup! Just trying to look on the bright side! I hope you get a good deal on whatever you replace it with.

__________________
Not really a repo man.
repo man11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-30-02, 07:02 PM Thread Starter   #4
TripleH
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Hey Lt. Max, if you dont mind me asking, why was your avatar removed?
TripleH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 03:06 AM   #5
Stoanhart
Member

 
Stoanhart's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: VIctoria, BC, Canada

 
Been there. First time I ever built my own comp, I dropped a pair of pliars on the core of the CPU. Nice little dent on the corner (was an 1800+). It would start, and sometimes manage to put about half of my vid boot screen up before it stopped. I bout OEM grey market (the price was the x1000 unit price direct from AMD), so I had no warrant. Called AMD and they said they'd send me a one time customer satisfaction 1600+. I took it. Bless AMD
Stoanhart is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 03:40 AM   #6
Sonny
Senior TIFOSI

 
Sonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: VARIANTE ASCARI

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Lt. Max
hah a 1.6A Wouldnt have done that... sometimes spenidng more money is smarter...
No way. Anybody who does that will be kicking themselves in the butt when they realize what a slow crapper they have.

__________________
MICHAEL SCHUMACHER '94, '95, '00, '01, '02, '03, '04 FORMULA 1 DRIVER'S WORLD CHAMPION SEVEN WORLD TITLES
ASUS Maximus Formula Shi "R" Yan Special HR-05/IFX(2), HR-09 U TYPE 2, HR-09 S TYPE 2
E8500 C0 @ 8X505MHz 1.416V 1:1 TRU120E Shi "R" Yan Special
CM2X1024-8500CD5 70nm, Team Xtreem 2X2048
G92 GTS 512MB @ 810 | 2010 | 1010 HR-03 GT
XFi Titanium PCI-E
T260HD
G9, G15R2, G25
ST3320620AS, ST3750330AS, ST31500341AS, LiteOn iHAS 424 Y
620HX
Sonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 04:44 AM   #7
so many choices
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose, CA

 
Re: What a god aweful thing to happen


Quote:
Originally posted by TripleH
i cleaned off the hsf and cpu and reapplied ASII and powered up and i went into hardware monitor and my temp was 47 so i started to get upset so i removed the side of my case, removed the heatsink only to realize i cracked the core!!!!!!!!!!!! this sux
awe that sux

So when did you noticed you cracked it, before you took off the heatsink the first time or the second time?

Which heatsink were you using?
so many choices is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 06:53 AM   #8
Fiz
Member

 
Fiz's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: C:\%systemroot%\minidump

 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Lt. Max
[B]hah a 1.6A Wouldnt have done that... sometimes spenidng more money is smarter...


There is no need for that kind of stuff, if you want to start a debate, put it in the right place.

Fiz
Fiz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 09:43 AM   #9
Lt. Max
Member

 
Lt. Max's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Seattle, but im Estonian

 
oh , i didnt mean to start no debate, if u read the second line of my thread i meant that to even out the first line...

and my avatar was removed because it was a dancing girl showing her butt.. too sexy for most ppl here. but i like my current one btw!! makes me look like a bad kid

__________________
<- pic of my college parking spot
P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
9600pro - 400@500/300@310
Cascade watercooled
Lt. Max is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 03:44 PM   #10
so many choices
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Jose, CA

 
haha I remember your avatar
so many choices is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-02, 04:19 PM   #11
Maximus Nickus
Senior Shaman

 
Maximus Nickus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Milton Keynes, U.K.

 
Who wouldn't?
ARGHHHHHHHHHH

*Runs off screaming*

__________________
Lead Senior - Cooling
Abit AT7 Max2 | 2100+ @ 3200+
Dual Loop WaterCooling | 0.1 C/W CPU Block
In order to succeed, you must try. | Avatar by Plague.

Be calm, relax and the answer will come to you

Folding at Home
My Heatware
Maximus Nickus is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?