Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

CPU's...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-02, 01:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
CPU's...


CPU::::::::::::Process:::::Transistors:::::::: Die Size::::::::L2 Cache
P-4 2.2Ghz:::0.13micron:55 Million:::::::::::146mmSQR:::512KB::::
P-4 2.0Ghz:::0.18micron:42 Million:::::::::::218mmSQR:::256KB::::
P-III-s 1.4Ghz:0.13micron:44 Million:::::::::81mmSQR:::::512KB::::
P-III 733Mhz:0.18micron::28 Million:::::::::106mmSQR::::256KB::::
P-III 500Mhz:0.25micron::9.5 Million::::::::128mmSQR::::External


Can you's help me fill everthing that I didnt get "eg" 2.4Ghz 286
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-02, 02:45 PM   #2
stompah
Senior Member

 
stompah's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Renton, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Re: CPU's...


Quote:
Originally posted by DDR-PIII

CPUCentral Processing Unit
P-4<~ model name of CPU 2.2Ghzspeed of CPU
P-4 2.0Ghz
P-III-s 1.4Ghz
P-III 733Mhz
P-III 500Mhz



Processbasically this boild down into what size the manufacturing of the CPU
0.13micron
0.18micron
0.13micron
0.18micron
0.25micron


Transistors i cant explain it other than its the # of braincells the CPU has - the more transistors the more brain power the CPU has (theoretically)
55 Million
42 Million
44 Million
28 Million
9.5 Million


Die Size the die is the small area where the 'brains' of the CPu are located. Also known as the core (most of teh time the DIE is visable but one some CPUs it is covered by a metal heat spreader
146mmSQR
218mmSQR
81mmSQR
106mmSQR
128mmSQR


L2 Cache is the amount of memory the CPU has onboard - the external cache is set by the motherboard
512KB
256KB
512KB
256KB
External
I hope I didnt mislead you... if I did I hope forum members are mature enough to correct me in a mature manner

__________________
HEATWARE

I live ONE mile away from Fry's. Are you jealous?
stompah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-02, 03:32 PM Thread Starter   #3
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
howmany "braincells" does aP-4 @2.4Ghz have ?

and in overclocking it still has the same amount of transistors but how does it speed up ?
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-02, 01:49 AM   #4
stompah
Senior Member

 
stompah's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Renton, WA

10 Year Badge
 
No clue exactly... but the 2.2GHz has 55million.

in overclocking it uses the transistors in more frequency. meaning it uses them quicker and and more times than at defualt speed.

i wish some guys with more knowledge would respond too.
stompah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-02, 08:52 AM   #5
Enigma422
Member

 
Enigma422's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Parabolic Quantum Well

 
Quote:
Originally posted by DDR-PIII
and in overclocking it still has the same amount of transistors but how does it speed up ?
The amount of transistors does not affect how fast the CPU is to a certain degree. It just affects to complexity of the CPU. For example, the current NW CPUs have more transistors than the Willamette CPUs because memory is made up of a lot of transistors and what are known as trench capacitors and since the NW has double the L2 the Willamette had, it has more transistors.

In terms of overclocking the number of transistors have little relavence to how fast your CPU can overclock. As you may know, CPUs and basically anything inside your computer uses binary mathematics, digital, to compute data and do its job. This means, the only numbers a CPU can understand is 0 and 1. A transistor acts like a switch and allows the CPU to distinguish between a 0 and a 1, the 0 meaning off and the 1 meaning on. The combination of transistors in the CPU allow then the CPU to do the complex mathematics involved in data crunching. What you do when you overclock is make these transistors switch on and off faster and this is how you speed up a CPU when you overclock.
Enigma422 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-02, 09:55 AM Thread Starter   #6
DDR-PIII
Disabled

 
DDR-PIII's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: 6p6

 
that was easyer said
DDR-PIII is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?