Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

A solid dual slot 1 board

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-03-02, 06:55 PM Thread Starter   #1
explorer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ohio

 
A solid dual slot 1 board


I am putting together a server with dual p2's and I need a solid slot 1 motherboard, anybody know of one?

Thanks,
Explorer
explorer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-02, 08:30 PM   #2
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Abit VP-6 or BP-6 probably the best known overclockers dually boards ever....both will work with P2s but if you ever want to upgrade to PIIIs the VP-6 will be better....

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-02, 09:13 PM   #3
DarkArctic
Member

 
DarkArctic's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Except those are socket 370's, not slot 1's.

-DarkArctic

__________________


"Some people have told me they don't think a fat penguin really embodies the grace of Linux, which just tells me they have never seen a angry penguin charging at them in excess of 100mph. They'd be a lot more careful about what they say if they had."
-Linus Torvalds

My Heatware | Overclockers.com Front Page | Folding for Team 32 | You Are Here

DarkArctic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-02, 09:52 PM   #4
Jon
Just Another Retired Moderator

 
Jon's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lawrenceville, GA

10 Year Badge
 
If you can find anyone that sells them, the Maxtium BXAD (I know you've never heard of them) is a perfect board for that. I have one myself.

Otherwise, you'll probably have to go with a an older Tyan.

__________________
theHTPC.net
Jon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-02, 10:54 PM   #5
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
sorry...im an idiot....

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-02, 08:39 AM   #6
Kingslayer
Senior Member

 
Kingslayer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida

 
Yeah Tyan has some nice older dual Slot 1 boards. I believe it was still called the Tiger series and I also believe the Thunder series had dual slot 1 boards.

Gigabyte had an old slot 1 board.

__________________
"Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have made a difference in the world. Marines don't have that problem" Ronald Reagan

Proud member of the XDC
Kingslayer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-02, 11:45 AM   #7
donny_paycheck
Inactive Super Quad Mod

 
donny_paycheck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Get a genuine Intel for cheap! Check out the M440LX for $29. It'll support slot 1 at 100mhz FSB, although for a Pentium III you'd need to go with an OR840 or similar, which would cost quite a bit more.

__________________
Core i7 920 @ 4 GHz, 1.35v
Corsair Nautilus 500 w/DD BIX radiator swap & Apogee GTX
Asus P6T
6GB Corsair Dominator
XFX GeForce GTX 285
WD Raptor 150GB / Hitachi 1TB
Antec P182 / PCP&C Silencer 750
Samsung 2232GW

Sic vis pacem, para bellum.
donny_paycheck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-02, 04:28 PM   #8
Nordic
New Member



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sweden

 
Avoid the MSI 6120-series. I bought two boards, the first one died after a year of use, and I got a new one on the warranty. But the replacement died a year later, but after the warranty went invalid. The second board died shortly after the replacement of the first board died. So I have two dead Slot-1 boards with four (4x) Celeron 300A CPU's which all ran at 450 MHz (4.5x100) perfectly fine. I also have four slotkets as the CPUs were Socket 370 and the board is Slot-1.. *sigh*

I bought an Abit BP-6 second hand and it keeps running and running but it has a few quirks as it fails to boot up after a warm reset - you have to let it cool of for a few minutes. But works great once it has booted but only works with dual Celeron PPGA (300-533 MHz). Great overclocking board as well, has all the bells and whistles you expect.

I also bought a MSI 694D board but I really shouldn't have with the bad record of the 6120's. But I did and frankly they suck. I can only run dual Celerons at default speed, it seems that the board is totally unstable at bus speeds over 83 MHz. It somewhat works at higher bus speeds but I get everything from corrupt harddrives and sporadic lockups. I've tried two Celeron 300's @ 450 MHz (100 MHz bus) and two P3-866 (133 MHz default bus speed) but I get the same identical problems.

DON'T BUY MSI DUAL BOARDS!!!
Take it from me; they don't know what they're manufacturing.
Nordic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-02, 06:16 PM   #9
Johan
Member

 
Johan's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MI

 
I have two older slot 1 Tyan boards w/ 440BX chipset: Thunder 100 and Tiger 100. I'm only using the Thunder right now and it is a nice solid board.
Johan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-02, 07:36 PM   #10
DS
Registered

 
DS's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: TX

 
If you can find one, IWILL made some good dual slot 1 boards.
DS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-02, 04:29 AM   #11
DSTA
Member

 
DSTA's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NRW, Germany

 
Quote:
Originally posted by donny_paycheck
Get a genuine Intel for cheap! Check out the M440LX for $29. It'll support slot 1 at 100mhz FSB, although for a Pentium III you'd need to go with an OR840 or similar, which would cost quite a bit more.
You sure about 100 MHz FSB on that M440LX? I thought the LX's default was 66 MHZ.
DSTA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-02, 05:04 AM   #12
moonguy
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In the processor

 
Supermicro PIIIDRE or PIIIDR3
Intel OR840 (only support FSB133 SECC2)
Should be a good choice, but stay away from intel 820 chipset for dual setup.
moonguy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-02, 09:18 AM   #13
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by moonguy
Supermicro PIIIDRE or PIIIDR3
Intel OR840 (only support FSB133 SECC2)
Should be a good choice, but stay away from intel 820 chipset for dual setup.
i wouldnt say so...ive heard that the ASUS P3C-D is a decent board...

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-02, 02:58 PM   #14
Samurai_Punch
Member

 
Samurai_Punch's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CP Howze, S. Korea

 
I have a Tyan Thunder 2... it's a great board, just not very upgradeable, processor wise, but it's got nice onboard goodies, like an Adaptec SCSI controller, and a Yamaha soundcard on board, as well as an option for SCSI RAID controller too. I tried upgrading the processors to 366 celly's (with a slocket and that didn't work a few years ago). It's not overclockable though, but you might be able to with a slocket/golden socket combination, I don't know for sure though.
Samurai_Punch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-02, 05:25 PM   #15
moonguy
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In the processor

 
Quote:
Originally posted by funnyperson1


i wouldnt say so...ive heard that the ASUS P3C-D is a decent board...
I own that board ... Is stable, but the performance is not there.
moonguy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-02, 04:56 AM   #16
DSTA
Member

 
DSTA's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NRW, Germany

 
Quote:
Originally posted by moonguy


I own that board ... Is stable, but the performance is not there.

I guess even a single RD-RAM channel has easily enough bandwith to keep a P3 happy (dual doesn't matter, one CPU at a time on the bus), but is there a way to overclock the RD-RAM on that board?

It's probably the mem latency that's holding you back.
DSTA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-02, 06:29 AM   #17
SP
Member

 
SP's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000

 
A few good choices for dual slot 1 boards are the Tyan Tiger 100 revision F, Supermicro P6DBE and P6DGE. The tiger 100 and P6DBE are 440BX boards. The P6DGE is a 440GX board. 440GX is essentially the same as 440BX except it supports upto 2GB of ram as opposed to 1GB for the 440BX. If you get a Tiger 100 and you want it to support coppermines someday then you need a revision F. The Tiger 100 revision F, P6DBE, and P6DGE will all support 100Mhz FSB coppermines upto the 100Mhz FSB 1.0Ghz chips. Anyway, these were all good rock solid stable boards.

There are also some I840 slot 1 boards that were really good boards also. The only thing I don't know is whether the I840 boards will accept Pentium II processors or not. That might be an issue. I do know that some of the I840 boards, like the OR840, will work with 100Mhz FSB slot 1 coppermines even though it only officially claims support for 133Mhz FSB coppermines but I would'nt count on an old Pentium II working. For one thing the old Pentium IIs ran at a much higher Vcore.

Also, one thing that anyone should know about the slot 1 I840 boards is they don't like using slocket converter cards. So, if anyone does build a dual Pentium III I840 system they need to buy slot 1 cpus and not socket 370 as I don't of anyone who ever got any slocket converter cards to work in these boards. That's not really that much of an issue though as they made plenty of slot 1 coppermines.

Good luck finding any of these boards now as they are getting hard to come by. One place you might check is the for sale forum at www.2cpu.com
SP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-02, 07:14 PM Thread Starter   #18
explorer
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ohio

 
Thanks a lot you guys, The suggestions have helped enormously.

Explorer
explorer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-02, 07:42 PM   #19
donny_paycheck
Inactive Super Quad Mod

 
donny_paycheck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Quote:
Originally posted by SP
A few good choices for dual slot 1 boards are the Tyan Tiger 100 revision F, Supermicro P6DBE and P6DGE. The tiger 100 and P6DBE are 440BX boards. The P6DGE is a 440GX board. 440GX is essentially the same as 440BX except it supports upto 2GB of ram as opposed to 1GB for the 440BX. If you get a Tiger 100 and you want it to support coppermines someday then you need a revision F. The Tiger 100 revision F, P6DBE, and P6DGE will all support 100Mhz FSB coppermines upto the 100Mhz FSB 1.0Ghz chips. Anyway, these were all good rock solid stable boards.[/url]
Hey SP, you seem to have quite a bit of knowledge with this stuff. There are several _440_X boards around so I was wondering if you know the differences between them all.

__________________
Core i7 920 @ 4 GHz, 1.35v
Corsair Nautilus 500 w/DD BIX radiator swap & Apogee GTX
Asus P6T
6GB Corsair Dominator
XFX GeForce GTX 285
WD Raptor 150GB / Hitachi 1TB
Antec P182 / PCP&C Silencer 750
Samsung 2232GW

Sic vis pacem, para bellum.
donny_paycheck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-02, 05:15 AM   #20
pmurgs
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

 
Although five years old now, I have a Asus P297-DS board with two Pentium 2 266's running at 300. It has the old LX chipset though so maybe a newer dual Asus board would be better.

I must say I have been very happy with the board and you might be able to pick one up dirt cheap second hand if you are very price concious.
pmurgs is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?