• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking CPU and VCore

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soulrefuge

Registered
I have overclocked my athlon 900 up to 1008mhz using the FSB. The VCore was still at standard and not having any bother. The VCore is 1.675v. If i reduce the Vcore and my system stays stable, will it reduce the temp of my CPU, although it's only running at 25-26 idle and 38 active. Also i have set my targets of what i will run as maximum temps, 34 idle and 45-50 active. How do i go about pushing my CPU futher, gaining more MHZ, as i have lots of temp to play with, especially if reducing the VCore will reduce temps.

Any help greatly appreciated as i'm new to this.

Last edited:
Also, if i try increasing my VCORE, do you think that i will get the FSB upto the next target of 133? And how do i down clock my AGP slot as it will probably be running too high at that speed!

:cool:

Sorry, I forgot. If you want to push the FSB up to 133, and your mobo has the 1/4 divider, then your AGP and PCI slots will still be within spec at 66 MHz and 33 mhz respectively.

I have a VIA Technologies 663AS Pro, which, if i can get my FSB to 133 will put divide to 33mhz on PCI. Does this mean it will also go to 66mhz for AGP? If that is the case, then the only thing i really need to worry about is cooking the chip? Is that right?

That sounds like a Jetway motherboard right? If you have a VIA KT133 chispet, then the only thing you have to worry about at 133 FSB is the CPU. (Voltage and cooling) Possibly even power supply. I'm not too sure about the settings in that mobo however.
What kind of RAM are you using?