Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Arrggh! System Crashed, Help...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-02, 11:02 AM Thread Starter   #1
Tweaked!
Xtreme refugee

 
Tweaked!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh.

 
Arrggh! System Crashed, Help...


Ok, specs to start with. It's a Intel "Al440lx" mobo w/ a Celery500 running windoze 98se. Been running just fine for weeks since the cpu upgrade from a p//266. I've had it running F@H 24/7 and my sons have been gaming on it since the upgrade, so I really don't think thats the issue. About a week and half ago I noticed that it started showing an error on boot. "ERROR 02b2: Incorrect Drive A type - run setup". So I go into setup and floppy options are what they are supposed to be. Everything looks fine, so I reboot. Same thing again... So I skip it and the rig boots ok. Did notice though that it won't format a floppy disk, but did read another disk that had some small program on it. So I just blow that off for the time being. Well, this morning I woke up to a power outage for about 5 minutes. Go downstairs to my office, Main rig boots just fine, but the Celery500 rig won't boot to normal windoze, it will only boot in Safemode. So in safemode, I start checking Device Manager, No errors. So I go into system explorer and find it showing 2 floppy drives, 1 in drive "A" and 1 in drive "B" and not showing any cdrom drive (which was drive "G"). So I whip out the ole trusty bootdisk in floppy and precede to try and boot from that. Nothing happening... Won't recognize the floppy drive at all. So I open the case and remove the jumper from Normal (with no jumper, it's supposed to go to recovery). It gives me one long beep, the 3 short beeps. That's all it will do without the jumper, so I figure it has reset the cmos. I power it back down, replace the jumper, and boot. AARRRGGGGHHHHH!!! Same thing again! No matter what I try, It won't read the floppy and forgot it has a cdrom. Someone pleez help, the only other recourse I can think of at the moment involves a baseball bat, Broom and dustpan....I'd prefer to avoid that method as my F@H team needs all the processing power it can muster up right now.

__________________
E8400@3.4 w/ Apogee w/c
Asus P5B Deluxe
8gb pc2-6400 @ 475mhz 1:1 5,5,5,15
Asus GTX570 DCII
PC P&C 610w Silencer
2 WD sata 3.0 raid array 0



My Heat
Tweaked! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-02, 11:50 AM   #2
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
I think it's time to go shopping for a new floppy drive.
Mine used to do the same things...read a disk one minute, then the next winbloze would ask me to "insert media".
It all went away with a new drive installed, a head cleaning did no good.

Shop around a little too, there's no good reason on earth to pay the $30 that CompUSA wants for a floppy drive. It seams everyone else on the planet knows they're only worth $15-$20.

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-02, 12:01 PM Thread Starter   #3
Tweaked!
Xtreme refugee

 
Tweaked!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh.

 
Yeah, that's pretty much what I'm starting to think now too. I've gone into msdos from safemode and in drive A:, it will read the directory of a bootdisk I made in my other rig using win me. But when I run the exe. it fails and starts making a intermitten grinding sorta noise. Oh well, started in the classifieds hoping someone had some floppy drives for sale, no luck. Then I tried a couple online venders, and it looks like Newegg has them about the cheapest. ( $9.00 + shipping) Wonder how much they'll want for shipping? Guess I'll try Pricewatch next and see what they can turn up.

__________________
E8400@3.4 w/ Apogee w/c
Asus P5B Deluxe
8gb pc2-6400 @ 475mhz 1:1 5,5,5,15
Asus GTX570 DCII
PC P&C 610w Silencer
2 WD sata 3.0 raid array 0



My Heat
Tweaked! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-02, 08:30 PM   #4
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
Try changing the floppy cable first.
Just to make sure, unplug the floppy and disable the floppy controller in your BIOS. If it boots up okay, you'll know its either the floppy or floppy cable.

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-02, 03:18 AM Thread Starter   #5
Tweaked!
Xtreme refugee

 
Tweaked!'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cincinnati, Oh.

 
Well, I yanked the floppy out of my other rig and got it to boot off that. Did a high level format and started over
That wasted a good couple of hours of Folding time...
Nevertheless, It's up and running again and found a new floppy drive through pricewatch for 5 bucks and 7 bucks shipping. not too bad. Now its time for all the endless microsoft updates

__________________
E8400@3.4 w/ Apogee w/c
Asus P5B Deluxe
8gb pc2-6400 @ 475mhz 1:1 5,5,5,15
Asus GTX570 DCII
PC P&C 610w Silencer
2 WD sata 3.0 raid array 0



My Heat
Tweaked! is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?