Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

linux on AMD

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-02, 10:37 AM Thread Starter   #1
Tbird man
Member

 
Tbird man's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Boone, NC a.k.a THE BOONIES

 
linux on AMD


a friend of mine was told that linux runs better on an intel than an AMD and i wanted to make sure he was wrong.

__________________
E=MC˛
AMD Pehnom II 1090t -- Cooler Master Hyper 212+ -- Gigabyte GA-790FXTA-UD5 -- 8Gb G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1066 --XFX ATI HD5770 1GB -- Hitachi Deskstar 1.5TB 7200 RPM 64MB 6.0Gb/s HDD ||
"Life sucks, wear a helmet."Dennis Leary
Tbird man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-02, 11:48 AM   #2
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
He's wrong, it doesn't matter if its an Intel or AMD.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-02, 08:56 PM   #3
kevmarks
Member

 
kevmarks's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago

 
Most kernel distros come pre compiled for intel. So I would say most linux installations prob do run better on intel. However, compiling a kernel for AMD is very easy these days. There is no noticable speed difference between the 2
kevmarks is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-02, 04:20 PM Thread Starter   #4
Tbird man
Member

 
Tbird man's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Boone, NC a.k.a THE BOONIES

 
so there are no problems running linux on an AMD box? the CET teacher at my school seemed pretty confident that something he saw on redhats site tole him that there were prolems.

__________________
E=MC˛
AMD Pehnom II 1090t -- Cooler Master Hyper 212+ -- Gigabyte GA-790FXTA-UD5 -- 8Gb G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1066 --XFX ATI HD5770 1GB -- Hitachi Deskstar 1.5TB 7200 RPM 64MB 6.0Gb/s HDD ||
"Life sucks, wear a helmet."Dennis Leary
Tbird man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-02, 04:53 PM   #5
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
The only problem would be maybe you trying to use it with crap hardware like a crummy chipset, or using lowend hardware with it thats not supported in general, but nothing is intrinsically wrong with running it on an AMD box.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-02, 12:55 PM   #6
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
There should be no difference - however it all depends what the kernel was compiled for.

kevmarks: compiled for intel means usually for x86 processors. It will be for 386 upwards and compatible, or in some cases P5 upwards.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 09:43 AM Thread Starter   #7
Tbird man
Member

 
Tbird man's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Boone, NC a.k.a THE BOONIES

 
anyone know any issues with redhat on AMD systems?

__________________
E=MC˛
AMD Pehnom II 1090t -- Cooler Master Hyper 212+ -- Gigabyte GA-790FXTA-UD5 -- 8Gb G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1066 --XFX ATI HD5770 1GB -- Hitachi Deskstar 1.5TB 7200 RPM 64MB 6.0Gb/s HDD ||
"Life sucks, wear a helmet."Dennis Leary
Tbird man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 09:50 AM   #8
Jeff Bolton
Member

 
Jeff Bolton's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Middle Peninsula Virginia

10 Year Badge
 
i've never had any problems with it. redhat 7.2 for months and its going strong.

as long as its an x86 processor it doesn't matter. anything x86 is either a pentium or a pentium-class processor.

jeff
Jeff Bolton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 10:00 AM   #9
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeff Bolton
anything x86 is either a pentium or a pentium-class processor.

Apart from 286, 386SX, 386DX, 486SX, 486DX processors, and the AMD and Cyrix equivlents.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 10:05 AM   #10
Richard
Senior Member

 
Richard's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001

10 Year Badge
 
In my experience, it doesn't really matter.

Although, I must say it sure is nice and fast with this P4.

__________________
Cookie!

Treat others as you want to be treated.
Richard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 11:17 AM   #11
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Linux has been really happy on my dual Athlon box.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-02, 07:17 PM   #12
dozier768
Member

 
dozier768's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: portland,or

 
no probs here, and i compiled the souce kernel my self and i saw a very large perfomance increase. running redhat 7.2 t-bird 900 overclocked, and the only peice of hardware it desnt love on my box is my sidewinder usb joystick.....go figure

__________________
ATHLON Palomino 2000+ @ 1.823 ghz1.85v
Geforce4mx420 @300 mem @210
256megs crucial cas2 pc2100
60gig 7200rpm western digital
volcano 7+
"Everyone is born with an inherrint knoledge of right and wrong, dont let yours be waivered by popular concensous"
dozier768 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-02, 09:35 AM   #13
phillyTIM
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA

 
well it really doesnt' run any better on amd than typically anything else

however, linux-amd is the true rebel's machine!

scores points in my book, and is better IMHO!
phillyTIM is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?