Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Solid or Stranded Cat5e

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-02, 06:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
speedy4500
Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
Solid or Stranded Cat5e


NUmerous sources have said that stranded cable should not be used for runs more than about 20 feet. In my house i will be wiring there will be a couple runs of about 40 feet. Should I use solid cable for this? If I do use solid cable, will i need special keystone jacks (punch down) for the wall outlets?

If anyone has successfully used stranded cat5[e] in runs of about 50 ft, i'd like to know.

__________________
n/a
speedy4500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-02, 07:19 PM   #2
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Stranded cat-5 is generally used for patch cords because of it's flexibility, not really for any special properties.
Solid wire is generally cheaper, so it's used for longer runs, connections can withstand corrosion damage for a longer time, and they can take more stress from pulling through walls.

I like using stranded for patchcords mainly because most cat-5 modular plugs are made for stranded, it's hard to find the plugs made for solid wire crimping, though I've used them when I had to. They'll pass testing about 90% of the time.

If you've got the jacks with the screw terminals, you can use either type of wire...the punchdown style have to use solid wire.

Does that about cover it?

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-21-02, 09:51 PM Thread Starter   #3
speedy4500
Member



Join Date: May 2001

 
Yes. The part that I need the solid wire for is for running from the wiring closet wall plate to the various other wall plates around the house. The computers will use standard stranded patch cords to hook up to the wall outlets, and the router will also attach to the ports using short stranded patch cables. Since you say that punchdown terminals work well with solid, I will go with that for the keystone jacks in the wall plates.

lol i just noticed that you've been registered about only half the time i have, and you have a gazillion more posts. I hate my busy busy life. Im lucky if i get to check these forums once a week.

__________________
n/a
speedy4500 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 01:23 AM   #4
Crash893
"The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed."
Senior Member

 
Crash893's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 22033

10 Year Badge
 
i used to do cat5 runs for aol's data centers and other stuff

all the stuff we used was solid

if you want to "futre proof" i use the term lightly

there is cat 6 out now but not sure in what lenths

but that can do gig over a network and i belive intell has a 10/100/1000 card out now

you may not need it now but if its in a house that youll have 10 years you may need it the way things are going

__________________
My Prime95 stats Huzza
1004.793 Years total
Noli turbare circulos meos!
i'm moving to Theory, Everything works there
' I want to be the unwobbling pivot at the center of an ever-revolving universe; I want to be still.'
Crash893 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 01:48 AM   #5
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Yep, Cat-6 is out for a little while now, and in any length you want. My box is 1,000 feet, but I don't use it much because my computer is the only one in the house with internet and will stay that way until the kids are older. Their computer's don't have pci slots, so no NIC's!

And speedy4500, I get alot of time to post, I've been layed-off since Halloween. The computer is the only thing I get to do anymore.

*edit* After a little thought on the matter of cat-6, I thought I'd clarify a tad bit.

It doesn't appear that a firm standard had been ratified yet, but as many cabling manufacturers helped in developing the standard, most are guaranteeing their products to the cat-6 standard when it appears.

My box of "cat-6" used to be cat-5e until a different standard was adopted for the 5e, making my double shielded and drain tapped cable cat-6 (for now).

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin

Last edited by Diggrr; 04-22-02 at 02:02 AM.
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-02, 03:26 AM   #6
Crash893
"The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed."
Senior Member

 
Crash893's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 22033

10 Year Badge
 
we should start a club diggrr
i wonder who else has been laid off

__________________
My Prime95 stats Huzza
1004.793 Years total
Noli turbare circulos meos!
i'm moving to Theory, Everything works there
' I want to be the unwobbling pivot at the center of an ever-revolving universe; I want to be still.'
Crash893 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?