Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Temp Update!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-02, 12:47 AM Thread Starter   #1
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
Angry Temp Update!


Well I have the gun! I spent an hour or so and took apart my machine so that the mobo could breathe. I have found that the infared is real easy to use. I also calibrated it and found that it's good to +/- 2 Degree C which I followed up with the manufacturer. I'm confused with how to do the cal! I have found that when I shot the CPU I get as much as 37 C difference. I realize this isn't worth talking about, it's not out that far. It read 62.0 C on the gun and 99 C in the bios. Now understand that when I remove the heatsink the temp instantly responds however the gun shoots reatime as well. This is going to be alot trickier than I thought. The temp is going to be hotter below the chip than on the top Aluminum where I'm taking it. That's arctic silver 3 you see on the chip. I figured I'd try it with it on and then with it removed. still have no clue where the temp is recorded for the case temp so please HELP! I need all the ideas I can get from you folks. I have the gun for a couple of weeks and until I get my reservior sealed I can experiment with this. I did find that when shooting the temp of the mobo in various areas that the BIOS and the gun agreed within 4 to 6 degrees C. I realize I'm probably not checking this right so ideas please. If we can locate where temp is taken on the board we could probably apply the same offset to the CPU temp.
http://www.raytek-northamerica.com/t...8&cat_id=2.3.5

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.

Last edited by ElroyCarbon; 04-29-02 at 01:22 AM.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-29-02, 02:19 AM   #2
jdmcnudgent
Member

 
jdmcnudgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: tOLEDO, OHIO, the heart of it all!

 
dunno bout the system temp, but nice fan on the rambus.also, you are shooting the core, and its gonna be high with that kind of overclock, and no cooling on it. also, nice overclock on the fsb with the pc800.
jdmcnudgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-02, 02:24 AM   #3
jdmcnudgent
Member

 
jdmcnudgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: tOLEDO, OHIO, the heart of it all!

 
o yeah, welcome to the forums
jdmcnudgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-02, 07:35 AM Thread Starter   #4
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
Thanx for the hospitality! These are by far the greatest forums around. I'm not sure why it took me as long as it did to make it here. I found myself being sent to oc.com for my H2O questions alot. I did by the way all testing at the default speed of 1.6. Everything is stock to minimize any uncertainty.

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.

Last edited by ElroyCarbon; 04-29-02 at 06:20 PM.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-02, 02:12 PM   #5
gipat
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prince Rupert BC Canada

 
I think one problem you might have is that the cpu diode reads temp in the core. you are reading the temp of the heat spreader I am sure there would be a differance.
gipat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-02, 05:28 PM Thread Starter   #6
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
I hearya! I feel like such an idiot cause I have the equipment and the rig torn apart yet I cannot give any info worth discussing. I'm thinking at least with my machine it's roughly 5-7 C off. It may not be that way across the board though.

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-02, 09:35 PM   #7
MaxQc
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Quebec, CAN

 
how did you fixed the fan on the rambus sticks ?? a very nice and interesting mod !!

__________________
Antec SX-1030B w/ Enermax EP-365VE 350w PSU ---------- Abit TH7II-Raid w/ Mr. Natural 7D BIOS ---------- Pentium 4 1.8a @ 2.4Ghz [133Mhz FSB @ 1.7v in BIOS] ---------- Alpha 8942 w/ Panaflo H1A 40CFM @32db ---------- 2*256 Mo Samsung Rambus ---------- Maxtor 60Go 7200rpm ATA133 FDB ---------- 3COM Nic ---------- Visiontek GF3 Ti200 @ 220-500 ---------- Pioneer DVD-105s 16/40x DVD ---------- Teac 24/10/40x CDRW ---------- Benchs : http://www.max-qc.com/ordi_benchs.html ---------- Detailled specs : http://www.max-qc.com/ordi_specs.html
MaxQc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-02, 09:48 PM   #8
Grantman
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dana Point, CA USA

 
ElroyCarbon,
I'd be curious to find out what temp reading you get on your RDRAM without the fan running. Or with it running for that matter.
Grant
Grantman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-02, 11:47 PM Thread Starter   #9
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
Well for starters you'll laugh at the way I mounted the fans. I just recently did some work for Triad Circuits outside Chi-town. I toured the joint and learned how they create these crazy boards. They go through as many as 50 stages during production and well to get to the point it seemed almost like an epoxy/ resin fiberglass type of slop. So I figured I'd try my pal superglue and to my pleasant surprise it works awesome! You see when the RAM is cool it doesn't seem to affect the glue at all & well the fans keep the sticks cool. I had a couple of these beater fans lying around and walla! These bad boyz are rockin 7000 RPMs each not sure about CFM. I'll do a quick check on the temp difference although this cat "Batboy" has already posted the temp difference, but I'll make it easy for ya just give me a day or so. I will once again give "Batboy" props cause I ran with his idea, just decided to twist it a bit. Remember just a tack is all 2 tiny drops on the top of each surface let it sit for 20 seconds then held the fans in place until tacked. I have for the record removed them several times at which point I lighty sand off the residue and begin again. Once you cool the RAM "ITS ON" As for the North Bridge not sure if it did anything or not it's kinda rigged, but holds tight so I can't complain. If anyone else reads this who has cooled the North Bridge chipset let me know how you did it. Laslty I was wondering also if anyone has used Arctic 3 on the North chipset & is it even worth the effort?

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.

Last edited by ElroyCarbon; 04-29-02 at 11:55 PM.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-02, 12:06 AM Thread Starter   #10
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
By the way everyone I'm running the two fans on the RAM the fan thats above was used in conjunction with the crappy blue heatsink to keep the CPU in check as I played with the temps on the MOBO. The residue wasn't even sanded off so if you look close enough you may be able to see the Superglue.

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-02, 12:22 AM Thread Starter   #11
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
Here are a few more shots! Notice the waterblock has to be installed before the Fans. I lean the fans over towards the CPU to cool the area between the CPU and the RAM as well.

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-02, 12:24 AM Thread Starter   #12
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
Glue shot! I'm not saying this is the best way to do this, but so far so good. Isn't experimenting fun! Man this Old school digital sux! sorry about the technicolor photos

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-02, 08:29 PM   #13
Justin2050
Disabled



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Diego, CA

 
I used superglue before too, except when I had to reattach after doing some work on the board I used different glue, it dripped everywhere including down into the slots that hold the ram, resulting in error code c1, I ended up buying another board changing the serial # stickers and then returning the bad board in its place then did the same thing with the ram it eneded up just costing me a $10 restocking fee and the new ram I got makes it to 1088 and its only pc800
Justin2050 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-02, 08:41 PM   #14
Grantman
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dana Point, CA USA

 
Quote : Justin2050 "I used superglue before too, except when I had to reattach after doing some work on the board I used different glue, it dripped everywhere including down into the slots that hold the ram, resulting in error code c1, I ended up buying another board changing the serial # stickers and then returning the bad board in its place then did the same thing with the ram it eneded up just costing me a $10 restocking fee and the new ram I got makes it to 1088 and its only pc800"


And that is exactly the reason I hate shopping at FRY's because sometimes stuff like this gets back on the shelves. Some people....

Grantman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-02, 08:48 PM   #15
Justin2050
Disabled



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Diego, CA

 
Don't hate just because I'm smart enough to work it out for $10 and your stupid ass would shell out 400 bucks.
Justin2050 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-02, 10:17 PM Thread Starter   #16
ElroyCarbon
Member

 
ElroyCarbon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Racine

 
Talking


Hey easy now! We are pals in here right?

__________________
15" Macbook Pro, dual 2.16's, 7,200 HDD, 2GB RAM on a glossy screen Win7, Leopard

CoolerMaster Wave, Corsair 750 PSU, Asus Striker 2 Extreme, Intel Q9550, Radeon 4890, 2GB RAM

Media Center:
Antec Case, Antec 450 PSU, DFI Lanparty, Phenom 2, 4GB RAM, Huappage 2250, OCZ SSD, LG Blue Ray, 52" Sharp LCD, Thecus N5200B Pro 7.5 TB NAS, My Movies 2, Total Media Theater 3, Genie Wireless Keyboard.
ElroyCarbon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-02, 04:10 AM   #17
WHQLbob
Registered

 
WHQLbob's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

 
lol ! Fry's is your best friend when it comes to replacing broken hardware . Nicely done cooling on the ram, simple yet effective.

I'm definitly going to have to add some more cooling in my chasis, this summer is going to be a real scorcher. The way I have my desk setup now works out pretty well atm. Its against the wall, so my case on my desk is parrallel with the window where I have a huge dual fan blowing in and another small clamp-fan clamped to my desk so it pushes the cold air in the direction of my case into the intake fans. Around 8:30 or so, my cpu temp drops to 36c w/ stock cooling. During the day is another story. Can idle as high as 47-50c :/ I frequently check the temps while I'm at work to see how hot it is in my room, heh.
WHQLbob is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?