Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

switching from 98SE to XP pro need input

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-02, 02:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Elder
Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, Ca

 
switching from 98SE to XP pro need input


Im making the switch!..hoping im doing the right thing....Now with a fresh install of win98se im real familiar with the order of installation( os, then via 4in1's, vid drivers, sound etc) But what is the best order of installation for xp pro?...ive read stuff about not installing the Via 4in1's? ,,,what about the refresh problem where can a get the best "fix" for this when should i install it? ... im going to go find all the xp drivers for my hardware and install xp in a bit!
thx for any help
Elder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-02, 08:54 PM   #2
takiwa
Member

 
takiwa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
Quote:
Now with a fresh install of win98se im real familiar with the order of installation( os, then via 4in1's, vid drivers, sound etc)
That is usually the order I go in for XP Pro. 4-in-1's, video, sound, MBM, Nero. All the installs that need to be followed by a reboot I do first, although there is no one way that is set in stone. Good luck on your install.
takiwa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-02, 09:01 PM Thread Starter   #3
Elder
Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, Ca

 
well i got it installed....little scarry..a got a few errors...some files not being able to be copied( yes i purchased the cd at staples ) but in the end they were all copied.. so its installed ..i dled the via 4.38 drivers and installed them.... xp didnt like them or how i installed them? i had to go back it an earlier save of winxp...hummm any sugestions? i just dl'ed the 4.38's and since its self excuting i did that...is there a right way?
Elder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-02, 09:23 PM   #4
takiwa
Member

 
takiwa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
I didn't have a problem installing the 4-in-1's (same version as you, on my Abit VH6T). Might be more of a motherboard compatability issue than an XP one. But the copy errors throw up a red flag. Have you checked your memory? You said you were running 98 before. 98 doesn't have the memory management of an NT-based system, so you may just now be seeing those errors (I'm assuming you did the install at default speeds, non-overclocked?). File copying errors are the number one sign of memory errors with XP. Now you have some problems installing the 4-in-1's. Try installing with one stick of RAM. Also run memtest86 from DOS to check your RAM for errors.
takiwa is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?