• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

newby overclocking celeron1A

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tsang

Registered
my system:
celeron1A
asusTUV4X
256 pc133 sdram
gf2 pro

it's my first time overclocking, and i havn't equip my computer with any cooling device. last nite i went into the bios and start increasing the 100fsb. when it goes to 1100mhz which i think the fsb is 110, the computer freezes on me once i got into win2000 and opened photoshop. although i am just using the fan that comes in the retail box of the cpu, the tempature stays at around 40c, which i guess it's fine.
i see many ppl can get the celeron1A to at least 1400mhz. mine just goes up to 1100mhz and it crashes. did i do something wrong? pls help. thank you.

Welcome to the forums.

Most of those people were able to overclock that chip with the help of a voltage modification done to the chip to increase the default voltage (read the sticky at the top of this forum for the how-to). Also, most of the tA1 chips start hitting the stability barrier in the low 40C's, so you are borderline on your temp. A better HS is definately required for the voltage mod.

i would say its your temperatures, most 1As dont get unstable with good cooling until you hit 1.3+.....mine starts getting unstable at around 43-44C....

problems with TUV4X

ic
so 40c is the barrier for celeron1A
i shall work on tempature control a bit more
can u suggest me with some good fan brand names? and is the thermal grease necessary?

one more thing is that i couldnt change the voltage coz my motherboard doesn't provide that option. is there another way to modify the voltage?

thks

Re: problems with TUV4X

tsang said:
ic
so 40c is the barrier for celeron1A
i shall work on tempature control a bit more