Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

video bios????

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-02, 02:07 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mhypertext
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Joplin Mo, Usa

10 Year Badge
 
video bios????


is it possible to enter the bios on a vid card

i have a geforce2 mx400

__________________
-GigaByte-Z68X-UD4-B3
-I5 2500K
-EVGA GTX 570
-Raptors 4GbX2

My Heatware
Mhypertext is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 02:11 PM   #2
o770
Member

 
o770's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
yes, it is possible but you need to save it as a file first, then to open the file using some bios editor. anything you change you will need to reflash the video card with the newer modified file so the change can take effect.
o770 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 02:20 PM   #3
ninthebin
Member

 
ninthebin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK

 
if that doesnt sound like the dodgiest thing ever...

if theres one more thing for me to do and brake in my pc, that would be it...
ninthebin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 02:47 PM   #4
o770
Member

 
o770's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
unlike the mainboard bios, i think the video bios should only be modified and flashed in the case there is a problem you cant fix by another way.
o770 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 02:59 PM   #5
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by oTTO
unlike the mainboard bios, i think the video bios should only be modified and flashed in the case there is a problem you cant fix by another way.
But, unlike most motherboard bios, if you slap a PCI vid card for booting up, you can always reflash the backup/unaltered version you made and be right back up and running (assuming your mistake didn't damage a component ).
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 03:21 PM Thread Starter   #6
Mhypertext
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Joplin Mo, Usa

10 Year Badge
 
do i get the bios as an image file

__________________
-GigaByte-Z68X-UD4-B3
-I5 2500K
-EVGA GTX 570
-Raptors 4GbX2

My Heatware
Mhypertext is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 03:29 PM   #7
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Mhypertext
do i get the bios as an image file
Something like that, I personally have never done it, only read about it... ask silversinksam, a moderator here, he has some experience with video card bios files
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 03:53 PM   #8
takiwa
Member

 
takiwa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
Mhypertext, here's what you do.

Download the nVidia BIOS Editor.

Go here for a list of several different BIOS's, or load your own from memory (the editor does this for you)

Change what you want changed (signon, font, clk/mem timings, etc.), and save the file as a .ROM

Download the nVFlash Utility.

Move the nVFlash utility and the .rom file to your root drive (C:/)

Reboot to DOS mode, and type c:/nvflash ***.rom (where *** is the name of your .rom file)

Simple, huh?
takiwa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 04:05 PM   #9
o770
Member

 
o770's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
id recommend you to save your original bios first, you can do that using the program SAVEBIOS ("make dump" in the ray adams download section).
also you should get the program VGABIOS, this will load the newer bios first so you can check for any compatibility issue. id say this one is a must.

if youre interested on reading some information about editing the video bios, there is an article here.
o770 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-02, 10:08 PM   #10
bdf24
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Harford, WI.

10 Year Badge
 
I have never edited a video card bios. But I have flashed it numerous time's. I have also flashed with a wrong bios as well. But was able to recover from it. It's really not much different then flashing the bios on a motherboard.
bdf24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-02, 12:19 AM   #11
Bender
Mysteriously Changing Senior

 
Bender's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: In Thelemac's Basement Eating the Chickens

10 Year Badge
 
By the way if your looking for video bioses and flash programs check out www.aoafiles.com. They have an Nvidia and ATI video bios editor as well as a few roms.

__________________
Abit IP35-E
Q6600 @ 4GHz or bust
Phase Change Cooling by me
2GB Crucial Ballistix
ATI X1650
Seagate 7200.10 320GB
SilverStone Zeus ST56ZF 560w
Soyo 24" LCD
Bender is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-02, 08:23 AM   #12
Kakao
Member

 
Kakao's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

 
I had good results just flashing my card's bios with the newest version.
Kakao is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?