Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-02, 09:13 PM Thread Starter   #1
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A


I know a lot of poeple are folding with the ECS K7S5A well i did a vmod on my ak12a and found out they use the same voltage regulator(KA7500A). I posted the mod in the thread -= Get Your Volt Mods Here! =-
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-02, 09:45 PM   #2
NedClocker

 
NedClocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
Re: any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A


Quote:
Originally posted by res0r9lm
I know a lot of poeple are folding with the ECS K7S5A well i did a vmod on my ak12a and found out they use the same voltage regulator(KA7500A). I posted the mod in the thread -= Get Your Volt Mods Here! =-
Thanks res! Since I have both of those boards, I'll have to take a look. But, what good did the vmod do? You can't increase the fsb or the multiplier.

__________________
Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
NedClocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-02, 09:55 PM   #3
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Re: Re: any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A


Quote:
Originally posted by NedClocker

Thanks res! Since I have both of those boards, I'll have to take a look. But, what good did the vmod do? You can't increase the fsb or the multiplier.
there is a special bios which allows the ECS K7s5a to be oced via fsb...

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-02, 10:06 PM Thread Starter   #4
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
Re: Re: any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A


Quote:
Originally posted by NedClocker

Thanks res! Since I have both of those boards, I'll have to take a look. But, what good did the vmod do? You can't increase the fsb or the multiplier.
I am using cpufsb with it I can raise my fsb up to 166. right now I am running 150fsb I need to get a small resistor to increase vcore more or probly get a potenimeter so I will be able to adjust with just a twist of a knob. my next step up is 10.5*155 that should get me 1627 if the ram can handle it.

update: now running @ 1627 so far it seem stable @ 1.86 I can't believe the ram can run that fast considering it is made by xerox.

Last edited by res0r9lm; 05-27-02 at 10:43 PM.
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-28-02, 05:24 AM Thread Starter   #5
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
ok need to raise vcore higher than 1.86 to get 1627 completely stable 1.90 should do it. I'm going to radio shack today after work and get a 100k potenimeter. oh by the way to raise fsb up I'm using cpufsb verison 2.2.6
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-28-02, 10:24 AM   #6
NedClocker

 
NedClocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
Re: Re: Re: any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A


Quote:
Originally posted by funnyperson1


there is a special bios which allows the ECS K7s5a to be oced via fsb...
ok, thanks, funnyperson. I've got that on 2 of my K7S5A machines. Need to take time to put it on the 3 new ones.

I was thinking of the AK12a that res mentioned.
I have one of those, too. On that board, hopping up the voltage is not the problem; I can do that on the bridges really easily.

But, on that board, there is no way to increase the fsb or the multiplier. I hadn't thought about using cpufsb.

__________________
Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
NedClocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-28-02, 05:27 PM Thread Starter   #7
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
Re: Re: Re: Re: any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A


Quote:
Originally posted by NedClocker

ok, thanks, funnyperson. I've got that on 2 of my K7S5A machines. Need to take time to put it on the 3 new ones.

I was thinking of the AK12a that res mentioned.
I have one of those, too. On that board, hopping up the voltage is not the problem; I can do that on the bridges really easily.

But, on that board, there is no way to increase the fsb or the multiplier. I hadn't thought about using cpufsb.
you won't be able to get past 1.85 using bridges.
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-28-02, 06:16 PM Thread Starter   #8
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
ned how accurate is the ak12a on temps. @1627 raised my vcore up to 1.92 w/ hsf swifty mc 462 and now I'm getting 44c while folding and when I had it in my ak31 it was @1654 w/ vcore of 1.95 and only 42c w/ swifty mcxc 370. atleast I'm stable now.
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-02, 08:56 AM   #9
NedClocker

 
NedClocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: any folders looking for a vmod for ECS K7S5A


Quote:
Originally posted by res0r9lm


you won't be able to get past 1.85 using bridges.
Oh, ok, I didn't think about that.

__________________
Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
NedClocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-02, 08:58 AM   #10
NedClocker

 
NedClocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
Quote:
Originally posted by res0r9lm
ned how accurate is the ak12a on temps. @1627 raised my vcore up to 1.92 w/ hsf swifty mc 462 and now I'm getting 44c while folding and when I had it in my ak31 it was @1654 w/ vcore of 1.95 and only 42c w/ swifty mcxc 370. atleast I'm stable now.
It always seemes to run a little higher than my epox.

The k7s5a definitely reads higher.

__________________
Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
NedClocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-02, 04:39 PM Thread Starter   #11
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by NedClocker

It always seemes to run a little higher than my epox.

The k7s5a definitely reads higher.
thats what I thought. still getting unstablity after a few hours I know it's not the cpu. it's eithier chipset or ram can't handle 155 fsb. I'm thinking it's the chipset.
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-02, 04:48 PM   #12
NedClocker

 
NedClocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
Quote:
Originally posted by res0r9lm


thats what I thought. still getting unstablity after a few hours I know it's not the cpu. it's eithier chipset or ram can't handle 155 fsb. I'm thinking it's the chipset.
probably so. ram should be handling it. is it pc133?

__________________
Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
NedClocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-02, 05:24 PM Thread Starter   #13
res0r9lm
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: florida

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by NedClocker

probably so. ram should be handling it. is it pc133?
yea it's xerox pc133 just never heard of anybody using that brand
res0r9lm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-30-02, 08:59 AM   #14
NedClocker

 
NedClocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

 
Quote:
Originally posted by res0r9lm


yea it's xerox pc133 just never heard of anybody using that brand
Me either. It's probably made by some other company and then xerox sticks it's name on it.

__________________
Life is real! Life is earnest! And the grave is not its goal;
Dust thou art, to dust returneth, Was not spoken of the soul.

Lives of great men all remind us We can make our lives sublime,
And, departing, leave behind us Footprints on the sands of time;

Footprints, that perhaps another, Sailing o'er life's solemn main,
A forlorn and shipwrecked brother, Seeing, shall take heart again.

Let us, then, be up and doing, With a heart for any fate;
Still archieving, still pursuing, Learn to labor and to wait.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow
NedClocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?