Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

vid prob HELP

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-02, 01:42 PM Thread Starter   #1
skou
Senior

 
skou's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Off hiatus, iNET stopped advertising in MY posts.

10 Year Badge
 
vid prob HELP


I cannot get a video card to run on this mobo.

I have tried to use 2 gf2 mx400 cards and a pci card

I am still stuck at 16 colors & 640 x 480
skou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 05-29-02, 04:34 PM   #2
Dennis112
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Amish Wonderland of Central PA

 
You might get better help if you tell us which Abit motherboard you have.

Right off hand it sound like you have a video driver issue. Try uninstalling all the existing drivers in safe mode and then reload the correct ones after you restart windows in normal mode. Be sure to use the most current versions for your card.
Dennis112 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-02, 05:05 PM Thread Starter   #3
skou
Senior

 
skou's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Off hiatus, iNET stopped advertising in MY posts.

10 Year Badge
 
thanks for the response,

I have a th711-raid. I have tried re-installing windows (98 se)
reinstalling drivers for vid. card using different vid. cards, I have RMA'd one mobo, flashed bios, downloaded new drivers,

I am using the following;

th711-r
compro tech -nvidia Gef 2 mx400
2x 512 mb nec rdram
pen 4 1.6 willy
skou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-31-02, 10:19 PM Thread Starter   #4
skou
Senior

 
skou's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Off hiatus, iNET stopped advertising in MY posts.

10 Year Badge
 
operator error


I found the problem, don't use 1 GB ram with win98.

since it was cheaper to get XP (oem) than more rdram, I updated

windows. D-oh
skou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-03, 08:21 PM   #5
fritzman
Member

 
fritzman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand

10 Year Badge
 
What's the video card like???

I am looking at getting one of their GF4's but have never heard of the company.

__________________
Office Rig : 3770k (4.5@1.25vcore), H100, EVGA Z77 FTW, 2 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, 240Gb Revo3x2 with W8 Pro 64-bit, Antec P180 case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
WHS : Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Velo 600Gb running WHS2011, LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6
fritzman is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-03, 10:34 PM   #6
Logger
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: vermont

 
The cards are the same as all the nvidia cards modded for tv.

__________________
ASROCK Z77 EXTREME 6
3770K 212 EVO
8 GIGS RAM
256GB VERTEX 4
120 GB VERTEX 3
THOR CASE
ANTEC 750 W
LG BLURAY DRIVE
Logger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-03, 10:46 PM Thread Starter   #7
skou
Senior

 
skou's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Off hiatus, iNET stopped advertising in MY posts.

10 Year Badge
 
So that's what the PM was from.

After having this card for a few months, I'd get another one. But then, I'm not a gamer. Using a DVD ROM player, and this video card, I have a (almost) complete entertainment system. I updated the DVD software to a 5.1 audio version, and it's just fine.

What's amazing, this was my first post, way back in may '02

steve

__________________
Abit, RIP!

It was great while it lasted, but my other home is gone.

steve
skou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-03, 10:51 PM   #8
Logger
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: vermont

 
I bought mine for $89 but I had to shop around. Local store wanted $170.00 you can get them still for cheap.

Edit: I looked around none to be found . bummer

__________________
ASROCK Z77 EXTREME 6
3770K 212 EVO
8 GIGS RAM
256GB VERTEX 4
120 GB VERTEX 3
THOR CASE
ANTEC 750 W
LG BLURAY DRIVE

Last edited by Logger; 02-19-03 at 01:58 PM.
Logger is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?