Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

adustment to PELTIER output?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-02, 03:31 PM Thread Starter   #1
kevern1
Registered

 
kevern1's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: baltimore md

 
adustment to PELTIER output?


Correct me if I am wrong!
but can you use a adjusable dc voltage supply
say on a 226 w peltier and lower the voltage???
Also does the amp draw of 26 amps stay constant
no matter what the voltage? I am trying to shop around
on ebay and electronic sites to find a inexpensive
power supply for a 226W 12v 26amp peltier
to experiment with on a old board & processor.
Any suggestions?
I have a good 300W sparkle supply out of old system
but it is only rated @ 12 amps on the 12volt rail
15a on 3.3rail 29a on 5v1.

could this be used all by itself ????????????????

Thanks
Kevin
kevern1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 03:38 PM   #2
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Amps drawn will drop along with the voltage, and it will work to adjust the temp of your TEC and cpu. I don't think the drop would be enough to allow you to use the Sparkle, though....sorry dude.
I'm not versed enough to quote what the draw vs. voltage would be.

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 04:02 PM   #3
plat123
Disabled



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
i made a post about peltiers on another fourm and someone hooked me up with a link to this power supply.

http://www.allelectronics.com/cgi-bi...355&type=store

only 15 bux and looks like it will power one of thoese 226w pelts pretty good.
plat123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 04:10 PM   #4
Warlord2
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield,CA

 
omg I want one

it looks like that psu would work perfect. Let us no how it works out if you buy one.
Warlord2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 05:16 PM   #5
Colin
Arctic Silver Senior



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Kalifornia

10 Year Badge
 
That's a screaming deal on a pelt PSU!

__________________
Knowledge is useless, itís what you do with it that counts.
Colin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 05:24 PM Thread Starter   #6
kevern1
Registered

 
kevern1's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: baltimore md

 
I just orderd one will let you know how it works out.
I am going to use some of my model train transformers
to experiment in the meantime!
I have one that puts out 20amps @ 16v so I guess
that will take temps down a bit.
The TEC I have is Rated Qmax 226watts
so I figure 226/12 = aprox 19amps if I still
have my formulas correct

Power(watts) = Volts * I ( amps )???????????????????
kevern1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 05:33 PM   #7
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Yes, kevern1..that's the correct formula, but it's based on the wrong number. A 226 watt pelt will move 226 watts of heat from one side to the other at the specified delta temp. But that does NOT tell you what it requires to run it at. It may draw more than 300+ watts to run it.
Most vendors ignorrantly post an incomplete set of numbers on them. Apparently, they don't care if your power supply fries...the've made their sale;the've got your money;they don't care. Don't buy from people who don't know what their selling.

And WELCOME to the Forums!

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: 40' Copper Coil Geothermal ground loop Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2, 1/4"

Rig2: Via Esther C7 1.5 @ 1.65 Ф Jetway 7F2WE1G5D mITX mobo Ф 1 Gig Generic Ram (max) Ф 120 watt Pico PSU.

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 10:13 PM   #8
newbxp
Disabled



Join Date: Jun 2002

 
that looks like a great PS for the price
newbxp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-02, 10:27 PM   #9
Warlord2
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield,CA

 
man I hope it works out, I would like ot be able to run a 266watt pelt on this Tbird. I have a psu for a 172 watt pelt but I believe you need more thin 172watts for a Tbird.
Warlord2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?