Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

DIRECT X8 should i upgrade from 7

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-01, 01:13 AM Thread Starter   #1
outhouse
Senior Member

 
outhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Auburn California

 
DIRECT X8 should i upgrade from 7


ive heard some people have had problems with dx8 should i do it?

__________________
GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc
outhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 01:33 AM   #2
Placid
Senior Member

 
Placid's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut

 
Well no guarantee you wont have problems.
Alot of newer games require it thou.
I am using it with no problems.
Placid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 05:21 AM   #3
UnseenMenace
UnseenModerator

 
UnseenMenace's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Im using it with no problems on WinMe lite

__________________
one M15x is never enough
UnseenMenace is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 05:40 AM   #4
The Stickie
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Belgium

 
some games require it indeed. But some pc's don't seem to lile it either... if you're running Me, you can always use the system restore to get rid of your DirectX 8.0 if your pc desn't like it...
The Stickie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 09:46 AM   #5
[OC]_SR20DE
Senior Member

 
[OC]_SR20DE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Ummm..

 
Yes there are other people who have some problems and performance degrade jumping from DX7a to DX8. I didn't have problems when I installed DX8 but my gaming perfomance decreased by over 3 FPS in some games. Besides, I dont have very new games that need DX8 anyway.. I had best performance result with DX6.1a with Det. 6.18 nVidia driver. DX7a with Det 6.18 worked well too.
[OC]_SR20DE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 10:05 AM   #6
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I have DirectX8a which supposedly fixed some bugs. It's working great for me. You should use DX8 if you're using the latest beta Detonator drivers. The 10.xx and above drivers are optimized for DX8.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 11:53 AM Thread Starter   #7
outhouse
Senior Member

 
outhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Auburn California

 
Thanks i made the switch and i believe i'm useing the 12.10 or 12.20's that you like too have not tried playing games yet but i'll benchmark later.

THANKS ALL

Hey wait i just checked sisandra and it says i still have dx7 i used windows update to download these if thats a mistake where can i download dx8 and install myself?

__________________
GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc
outhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 02:21 PM   #8
Placid
Senior Member

 
Placid's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Connecticut

 
http://www.microsoft.com/directx/
Placid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 02:41 PM   #9
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
I got my DX8a from either madonion.com (the 3Dmark folks) or from a link I went to from that site. I downloaded a zipped file and then I believe it self installed when I unzipped it.

Actually, I'm using Detonator 12.40 drivers right now. They are currently giving me the best video benchmarks.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-01, 03:17 PM Thread Starter   #10
outhouse
Senior Member

 
outhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Auburn California

 
Thanks all I think before i upgrade I may need to reformat since i reformatted with a bad hard drive ribbon cable i'm having a few problems with IE5.5 when i try and switch pages while there loading evrerything gets real laggy you know a page pops up you dont like and you close it as i do everything slows down way to much maybe i'll try and just reinstall IE first but I will switch to 12.40's and dx8 tonight quick update I just went to to remove IE through control panel and i gave me the option to fix it instead of removing it and it seemed to work

__________________
GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc
outhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?