Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-2400MHz 32GB Memory Kit Review

Add Your Comments

Kingston has a long history of providing memory products for PC enthusiasts, so it’s no surprise they’ve gone all in with the latest DDR4 platform. Their current HyperX DDR4 offerings include the Predator and Fury lines, which are both aimed at enthusiast-level PC users. Today, we’ll be looking at a kit from Kingston’s HyperX Fury family – The 32 GB DDR4-2400MHz kit to be exact. The HyperX Fury DDR4 kits range in speeds from 2133 MHz to 2666 MHz and come in either 16 or 32 GB capacities. Several months ago, we had the opportunity to review a DDR3 HyperX Fury kit and came away impressed with its performance and overclocking ability. We’re excited to see if the DDR4 iteration of the HyperX Fury can continue that tradition, so let’s get started!

Specifications and Features

There are a few things that immediately stand out when viewing the features and specifications. First is the extremely low operating voltage of 1.2 V. The kit also has an impressive set of timings at 15-15-15 and offers full support for Intel’s XMP 2.0. The other cool thing about this kit is the Plug-N-Play feature, which means the kit should boot up at its rated speed and timings from the start. Most other kits default at 2133 MHz upon first boot (regardless of their rated speed) and require user interaction to set the memory speed correctly. This can be a big deal for novice users who don’t quite understand why their memory doesn’t default to the advertised speeds upon first boot.

Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-2400MHz 32GB Specifications and Features
Specifications
Part Number HX424C15FBK4/32
CL (IDD) 15 Cycles
Row Cycle Time (tRCmin) 46.75ns (min)
Refresh to Active/Refresh
Command Time (tRFCmin)
260ns (min)
Row Active Time (tRASmin) 29.125ns (min)
UL Rating 94 V – 0
Operating Temperature 0 °C to +85 °C
Storage Temperature -55 °C to +100 °C
Features
• Power Supply: VDD = 1.2V Typical
• VDDQ = 1.2V Typical
• VPP – 2.5V Typical
• VDDSPD = 2.2V to 3.6V
• Nominal and dynamic on-die termination for data, strobe, and mask signals
• Low-power auto self refresh (LPASR)
• Data bus inversion (DBI) for data bus
• On-die VREFDQ generation and calibration
• Dual-rank
• On-board I2 serial presence-detect (SPD) EEPROM
• 16 internal banks; 4 groups of 4 banks each
• Fixed burst chop (BC) of 4 and burst length of 8 via the mode register set
• Selectable BC4 or BL8 on-the-fly (OTF)
• Fly-by topology
• Terminated control command and address bus
• Height 1.230” (31.25mm), w/o heatsink
JDEC/XMP Timing Parameters
• JEDEC/PnP: DDR4-2400 CL15-15-15 @1.2V
• JEDEC/PnP: DDR4-2133 CL14-14-14 @1.2V
• XMP Profile #1: DDR4-2400 CL15-15-15 @1.2V
Module Dimensions w/o Heatsinks
kingston_ddr4fury (1)

Once you have the HyperX Fury kit installed, here is what the motherboard’s UEFI BIOS and CPU-Z report. The kit booted right up to its rated speed upon first boot, so we can confirm the Plug-N-Play feature does indeed work as intended.

UEFI BIOS SPD Table

UEFI BIOS SPD Table

CPU-Z Memory and SPD Tabs

CPU-Z Memory and SPD Tabs

Before we take a closer look at the HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 MHz kit, let’s give the marketing folks at Kingston a chance to have their say about the HyperX Fury DDR4 line of memory.

HyperX® FURY DDR4 can handle even the toughest battle. It automatically recognizes its host platform and overclocks to the highest frequency published (up to 2666MHz1) — so you can wreak havoc. FURY DDR4 runs at 1.2V, even at 2666MHz, so it stays cooler while you play. You don’t need to alter the voltage to reach higher speeds, which means there’s more power for other hardware in the system. FURY’s sleek, asymmetrical black heat spreader provides enhanced thermal dissipation to help keep your cool and help you stand out from the crowd.

Retail Packaging/Product Tour

The retail packaging consists of a unique clam-shell design with a label on top. The stick-on label provides a basic product description and a few high level features. Both sides of the package have “factory sealed” stickers applied, which insure no shenanigans have taken place prior to the kit arriving to you. Inside the clam-shell, you’ll find the four memory modules, a warranty and installation guide, and a small HyperX sticker.

Retail Packaging Label Side

Retail Packaging Label Side

kingston_ddr4fury (3)

Clam-Shell Factory Sealed Stickers

Inside the Clam-Shell

Inside the Clam-Shell

Guide and HyperX Sticker

Guide and HyperX Sticker

The following pictures will give you a good idea of the module’s aesthetics, which is basically a black and silver theme. The height of the heatspreaders are very receptive to large air cooling solutions that might overhang the DIMM slot area. We like the fact Kingston incorporated a black PCB, which matches perfectly with the heatspreaders. The asymmetrical black heatspreaders feel very well constructed and have a ventilation area at the top where heat is able to escape. Overall, well designed and good looks!

Meet the HyperX Fury

Meet the HyperX Fury

HyperX Fury Glamor Sho

HyperX Fury Glamor Shot

HyperX Fury Glamor Shot

HyperX Fury Glamor Shot

HyperX Fury Branding Side

HyperX Fury Branding Side

Branding Side

HyperX Fury Branding Side

HyperX Fury Sticker Side

HyperX Fury Sticker Side

HyperX Fury Sticker Side

HyperX Fury Sticker Side

Sticker Up Close

Sticker Up Close

Final Glamor Shot

Final Glamor Shot

Testing for Stability at Rated Speed/Timings

We like to begin our testing with a stability check at advertised speed/timings/voltage. For this task, we use our Ultra-X R.S.T. Premium USB memory tester. A note of thanks go out to the guys at Ultra-X for providing us with the tester, and we’re delighted to be one of only a few review sites that have one. The Ultra-X R.S.T. Premium is a bootable USB device that relentlessly beats on memory for an extended period of time and will definitely find any instabilities if they are present. Depending on the total capacity of the memory kit, it takes several hours to complete the five passes we prefer to run. Looking at the picture below, you can see it took just short of 14 hours to complete the full five passes. No errors were detected, so we can confidently say this kit is rock solid stable.

For in-OS stability, we fire off a 32M run of HyperPi. No problems encountered there either.

UltraX R.S.T. Stable

UltraX R.S.T. Premium Stable

HyperPi 32M Stable

HyperPi 32M Stable

Benchmarks

Here are the components used in our X99 test bed with all of today’s comparison kits listed just below. The six DDR4 memory kits we have in our comparison group include today’s HyperX Fury review sample and five other previously reviewed kits. The links are to their respective reviews.

Test System Components
Motherboard ASUS Rampave V Extreme
CPU Intel i7 5960X
Memory Various – See Table Below
Video Card EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD 256 GB
Cooling Custom Water
Operating System Windows 7 Pro x64
Comparison Kits
Brand Series Speed Channels Capacity Timings Voltage
Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4 2400 Quad 4X8 GB 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
Patriot Viper4 DDR4 3000 Quad 4X4 GB 16-16-16-36-2T 1.35 V
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4 3000 Quad 4X4 GB 15-15-15-35-2T 1.35 V
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2800 Quad 4X4 GB 16-18-18-36-2T 1.2 V
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-2666 Quad 4X4 GB 15-15-15-35-2T 1.2 V
ADATA XPG Z1 DDR4-2400 Quad 4X8 GB 16-16-16-39-2T 1.2 V

In the interest of full disclosure, the G.Skill DDR4-3000 MHz, ADATA, and Corsair kits were tested using the ASUS X99 Deluxe motherboard. The G.Skill DDR4-2666 MHz, Patriot Viper4 and today’s sample were all tested on the Rampage V Extreme motherboard. Both motherboards were set to use the memory’s XMP Profile with the CPU at its stock settings for all tests. Both of the motherboards also feature the ASUS OC Socket, so results should be consistent between the two different motherboards.

The graphs below show percentage values with the Kingston HyperX Fury kit (today’s review sample) being the basis and therefore, always 100%. For the scored benchmarks, a higher percentage is better, while for timed benchmarks, a lower percentage is better. Below each chart is a table with the raw data used to compile the chart.

Synthetic Testing

AIDA64’s memory suite tests read, write, copy, and latency performance. The read test shows the Kingston HyperX Fury beating all but the two 3000 MHz kits. In the write test, the Kingston HyperX Fury kit finished in a virtual tie with the ADATA kit, which interestingly are the two kits with the slowest MHz rating and the highest capacity at 32 GB. The copy test was dominated by the two 3000 MHz kits from Patriot and G.Skill, but the Kingston HyperX Fury managed to beat out the ADATA and Corsair samples. The latency test (lower percentage is better) was also a win for the two 3000 MHz kits, but the HyperX Fury managed to beat out all the other competitors.

AIDA64 Memory Test Results

AIDA64 Memory Test Results

AIDA64 Memory Benchmarks – Raw Data
Kit Read Write Copy Latency
Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 60710 47885 62341 67.4
Patriot Viper 4 DDR4-3000 61665 46973 66972 65.7
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-3000 61874 46994 67752 64.0
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2800 59046 47684 56632 69.8
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-2666 60378 46997 62783 68.9
ADATA XPG Z1 DDR4-24000 59793 47921 61091 69.8

We don’t typically see much difference in performance during the SuperPi and wPrime benchmark runs. True to form, all four tests show very little difference between the comparison samples. Both wPrime tests showed an advantage for the HyperX Fury, except for the 1024M test where it fell slightly behind the Corsair kit. The field of comparison kits were packed so tightly in the SuperPi tests, it’s difficult to declare a true winner. Suffice to say, the Kingston HyperX Fury had no problem hanging with all the other kits here.

SuprePi and wPrime Test Results

SuprePi and wPrime Test Results

SuperPi & wPrime – Raw Data
Kit SPi 1M
SPi 32M wP 32M wP 1024M
Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 10.358 537.001 3.512 103.444
Patriot Viper 4 DDR4-3000 10.343 533.521 3.572 103.459
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-3000 10.358 535.128 3.588 101.728
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2800 10.281 529.356 3.527 101.728
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-2666 10.342 538.528 3.526 103.554
ADATA XPG Z1 DDR4-24000 10.296 543.115 3.525 103.586

Rendering, Compression, and Video Conversion Testing

All three Cinebench benchmarks are run to show rendering performance. The R10 test results have the HyperX Fury losing out by just a tad to the two 3000 MHz samples, but on top of all the other competitors. The R11.5 results show a tightly packed group with all the samples being within a couple percentage points of each other. The HyperX Fury did manage to eek out a win over both 3000 MHz kits here though. The group of comparison samples were bunched even tighter in the R15 test as all the kits were less than a percentage point apart.

Cinebench Test Results

Cinebench Test Results

Cinebench R10, R11.5, R15 Benchmarks – Raw Data
Kit CB R10
CB R11.5 CB R15
Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 44489 15.26 1406
Patriot Viper4 DDR4-3000 44812 15.24 1409
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-3000 44800 15.17 1407
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2800 44206 15.49 1412
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-2666 44333 15.26 1401
ADATA XPG Z1 DDR4-2400 43761 15.26 1407

Compression testing is performed with 7zip’s built-in benchmark. Here we see the HyperX Fury landing in the middle of the pack, but again there was only a little over 1% difference between all the samples. Video compression is tested using the PoV Ray and x264 benchmarks. The Pov Ray results land the HyperX Fury atop the Corsair sample, and less than a half percent behind the other competitors. The x264 Pass 1 benchmark has five of the six samples with almost identical results with the ADATA kit falling just a tad behind. The Pass 2 benchmark again shows a very tight group with only .13% separating the top five finishers.

7zip, PoV Ray, and x264 Test Results

7zip, PoV Ray, and x264 Test Results

7zip, PoV Ray 3.73, x264 – Raw Data
Kit 7zip PoV Ray
x264 P1 x264 P2
Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 43335 2853.37 205.85 83.42
Patriot Viper 4 DDR4-3000 43496 2842.87 205.88 83.35
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-3000 43532 2847.19 205.88 83.42
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-2800 43640 2903.74 208.17 84.80
G.Skill Ripjaws4 DDR4-2666 43235 2845.25 205.88 83.43
ADATA XPG Z1 DDR4-24000 42945 2849.11 204.98 83.20

All in all, a great showing by the Kingston HyperX Fury. In most cases, the HyperX Fury was easily able to keep up with faster rated kits, so it’s difficult to complain about anything on the performance front.

Overclocking

Getting to 2666 MHz required no effort at all. In fact, all we had to do was change the speed to 2666 MHz and leave everything else the same. This meant voltage was still 1.2 V and timings remained at 15-15-15-35. Off to a good start!

HyperPi Stable at 2666 MHz

HyperPi Stable at 2666 MHz

As easy as 2666 MHz was able to obtain, we ramped it up to 3000 MHz. This HyperX Fury kit ran happily at this speed with the timings at 15-15-15-36 and the voltage at 1.35 V, which coincidentally are the same settings most high-end DDR4-3000 MHz kits use. Impressive result for sure!

3000 MHz Stable

HyperPi Stable at 3000 MHz

For a final push, we were able to get the memory kit stable at 3111 MHz by utilizing the 166 strap, 16-16-16-36 timings, and 1.4 V. Were talking a stable 711 MHz overclock here with very little effort.

HyperPi Stable at 3111 MHz

HyperPi Stable at 3111 MHz

Returning the memory to its default 2400 MHz speed, we went to work on the timings. Using 1.4 V, the kit was able to be stabilized at 12-13-13-36. Yet another impressive result here.

HyperPi Stable at 12-13-13-36 Timings

HyperPi Stable at 12-13-13-36 Timings

Conclusion

There isn’t much we can describe beyond what you’ve seen during the review. The performance was right on par with what you’d expect out of a DDR4-2400 MHz kit. Where this kit will separate itself from many competitor kits is its overclocking potential. Whether you prefer to overclock for higher MHz or lower timings, the HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 is ready and willing to please.

Aesthetically speaking, the HyperX Fury is an attractive option that would blend in nicely with many different system color schemes. Kingston went the extra mile too by making the PCB black, which finishes off the looks nicely.

If you look at how easily this kit overclocks to DDR4-3000 MHz speeds and then compare that to what 32 GB DDR4-3000 MHz kits actually cost ($700 to $1000), you can’t argue with the price of this kit. The only place I was able to find the HyperX Fury kit available for purchase is directly from Kingston’s webstore. The price listed there is $469, which lands it right about in the middle of similar kits listed at places like Newegg.

We tried like heck to come up with something to nitpick about, but there really isn’t anything at all not to like. The HyperX Fury DDR4-2400 32 GB kit was rock solid stable throughout all our testing, displayed great performance at stock speeds, and the overclocking potential is astounding. Kingston definitely has a winner on their hands here… Overclockers approved!

Overclockers_clear_approvedClick the stamp for an explanation of what this means.

Dino DeCesari (Lvcoyote)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discussion
  1. Got this RAM for my Ryzen system, massively impressed with the overclock I got.

    OC:

    3200MHz (from 2400)

    16-16-16-16-36 Timings at 1T

    1.4v

    If you don't already know memory has a massive performance impace on AMD Ryzen systems. This overclock sped my CPU up by almost 35% in benchmark testing and massively improved game FPS. I reccomend this but I can only speak for the 4GB modules, not sure about 8GB modules.
    I was able to reach only 3067MHz@1.5v and 3000MHz@1.35v with 1x8GB 2400MHz stock

    mb:asus z170i pro gaming

    cpu:6700k

    that's a little bit disappointing

    but I'm afraid that 1.5v voltage did do damage to my cpu or mb (haven't seen any problem yet though)
    I bought Kingston Fury DDR4 32gb 2400Mhz.

    My kit is good, but nowehere as good as what all the reviewers got. It runs at 2666 with 14,17,36 latencies on 1.2v. Any change beyond that makes it unstable. Raising the voltage to 1.35 allows only tiny improvements above that and is hardly woth it.

    Could it be that all the reviewers got specially selected samples?