Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

i hear the radio through my pc speakers.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-02, 12:18 AM Thread Starter   #1
Jerky
Member

 
Jerky's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
i hear the radio through my pc speakers.


this is bugging me to no end! does anyone know why i hear faint radio in the background of my cambridge soundworks speaker system? it's a fairly old system and is not magneticaly sheilded. could that be what it is... my speakers are picking up radio waves because it's not magnetically shielded?
grrrr, it makes mer feel like im hearing things.
Jerky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:21 AM   #2
mdcomp
Classic Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Probably just signals being crossed. I assume these are cheap speakers and old speakers, so that is probably what is happening. This happened to someone else here a while ago, but can't remember who.

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:24 AM Thread Starter   #3
Jerky
Member

 
Jerky's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally posted by mdcomp
Probably just signals being crossed. I assume these are cheap speakers and old speakers, so that is probably what is happening. This happened to someone else here a while ago, but can't remember who.
well, that's my next upgrade (this is driving me nutz), a new quality speaker system. no more strange voices in the night for me! lol!
btw - i accidentally posted this on the wrong board, but thanks for the reply...
cool penguin too.
Jerky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:30 AM   #4
mdcomp
Classic Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Thanks. New speakers will make a huge difference with sound qaulity. I need to get myself some new speakers, too.

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:40 AM   #5
Matthew1001
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama

 
Re: i hear the radio through my pc speakers.


Quote:
Originally posted by Jerky
this is bugging me to no end! does anyone know why i hear faint radio in the background of my cambridge soundworks speaker system? it's a fairly old system and is not magneticaly sheilded. could that be what it is... my speakers are picking up radio waves because it's not magnetically shielded?
grrrr, it makes mer feel like im hearing things.
What station are you getting?
Matthew1001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:49 AM   #6
flaming gerbil
Member



Join Date: Jan 2001

 
yep, the sheilding on your speaker wire is no good. get better sheilded wire and try to run the wires straight not looped. if it runs in a loops back on itself it will basically act as a large antannae. also try not to cross the wires across power cords this can induct noise. if you have to cross a power cord do it at a 90 degree angle.
flaming gerbil is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:50 AM   #7
DaddyB
Member

 
DaddyB's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
try using headphones and see if you still get the radiostation and try a second set of speakers if you can, has this problem always happened or did it just start recently?

The signal could be coming throught the air or it could be coming through the ground of your power outlet. you can buy things that you plug into the outlet that eliminate interference (try radio shack).

You wouldnt want to go out and spend your $$$ on great new speakers only to find out you still get that signal. if you have a radio station near your house that would be a likely cause but the only way to stop that would be to use tin foil for wall paper...

__________________
Mobile XP2500@2700MHz 208x13 @2.0VDell Dimension 8100 P4 1.3
Abit NF7-S, 1024MB Corsair XMS3200512MB PC800 RDRAM, T.B. Santa Cruz
ATi Radeon X850XT, Klipsch PM 5.1AIW Radeon 9800, 17" Trinitron
Dangerden RBX, 47c load, Dell 2005FPWAltec Lansing 4.1, THX certified
DaddyB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 01:07 AM   #8
Xaeron
Member

 
Xaeron's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Missouri

 
my buddy had the same problem on his guitar amp... he got better wires and grounded it and that seemed to do the trick... you could try it on your speakers... or just do what you were talking about and get a new set
Xaeron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 12:58 PM   #9
Avatar28
No, I showered



Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nashville, TN

 
That problem is usually caused by the audio input cable acting as an antenna and picking up AM radio signals. You might try getting a better cable if it can be unplugged from the back of the subwoofer. Other options are to wrap it in foil. Tying a knot in each end or buying a ferrite core may help as well. Or you can take other people's advice and buy some new speakers. But those suggestions may help until you can afford the new speakers.
Avatar28 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 01:13 PM   #10
Veland
Member

 
Veland's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bergen, Norway

 
Ahh... The good 'ol "German Radio Syndrom".. A known problem with some Cambridge sets, and Creative actually offered to fix the sets if faulty! Had the same problem, but I never bothered.

A little background info:

In most cases the radio station picked up is german, hence the name. At least in Europe.. I live in Norway and still pick up german radio, so it's got to be a somewhat powerfull station.. The problem is caused by bad shielding of the speaker wires, so changing the wires may help. Also relocating them, making them go in other directions may help. I moved the speakers around a bit and the problem dissappeared. If you know your way around an amplifier you can probably do something in there too.

Three possible solutions:

1) Move the speakers around and possibly change the wiring to them as well. (Should also improve sound quality a bit..)

2) Try to get Cambridge Soundworks or Creative to fix them. As mentioned they offered this some time ago but I can't seem to find any info on it right now.

3) Get a new set!


good luck!

__________________
The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong, is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong, it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair
(Mostly Harmless, by Douglas Adams)

WYGIWYGAINGW=What you get is what you're given and it's no good whining!
(The science of Discworld, Terry Pratchett)
Veland is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 02:45 PM   #11
DaddyB
Member

 
DaddyB's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada

 
speaker wires themselves are not shielded... it is only two wires that go to the speakers, some high end speakers (like my altec lansing ada 885s) may have shielding on the front speakers b/c they go near the monitor but in general speaker wires are not shilded. shielding goes around the wire like with coaxial cable (TV cable), there is a wire in the middle and some type of conductive material or a wire wrapped all around the the outside of that wire (not touching it).

as avatar28 said it may be the wire that goes from the sound card to the subwoofer is usually shielded and it may be picking up the signal. it may also be coming trough the ground wire of the outlet which can also act as an antena.

if you plug headphones into the computer (plug them in to the soundcard with the speakers unplugged) and still get the radio station I would suspect its coming through the outlet. If it disappears then I would think its coming in through the air, in which case a better cable going from the card to the speakers may get rid of the sound.

__________________
Mobile XP2500@2700MHz 208x13 @2.0VDell Dimension 8100 P4 1.3
Abit NF7-S, 1024MB Corsair XMS3200512MB PC800 RDRAM, T.B. Santa Cruz
ATi Radeon X850XT, Klipsch PM 5.1AIW Radeon 9800, 17" Trinitron
Dangerden RBX, 47c load, Dell 2005FPWAltec Lansing 4.1, THX certified
DaddyB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 03:46 PM   #12
CrystalMethod
Senior Band Wagon Jumper

 
CrystalMethod's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Yep, flaming gerbil, and DaddyB are right. It's the wires that are picking up the signals. You could just replace the wire with better quality, but take into consideration of the cost of the new wire and the work involved to re-wire everything. (I don't knnow how good you are with soldering, and such) As opposed to just going out and getting a new set of speakers.

CrystalMethod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-02, 04:23 PM   #13
Veland
Member

 
Veland's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bergen, Norway

 
It is coming through the air as in most cases the radio could be heard also after the computer is turned off. In some cases it was also reported to continue after the sub (also holding the amp) was disconnected from the computer. And yes, I know that speaker wires are not generally shielded, but using shielded wires should help as it is the speaker wires that transport the radio interference to the amp. I had a lot of links to information about this, but it's a while ago and I've changed computer since then.

My advice still sticks, either move your speakers, change the cable or buy new speakers

__________________
The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong, is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong, it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair
(Mostly Harmless, by Douglas Adams)

WYGIWYGAINGW=What you get is what you're given and it's no good whining!
(The science of Discworld, Terry Pratchett)
Veland is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?