Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Atheros AR5005G Wireless Problems

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-19-06, 12:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Atheros AR5005G Wireless Problems


I just bought a brand new Toshiba Tecra Celeron M notebook from newegg.com. It has a Atheros AR5005G Wireless mini-pci card in it. For some reason it does not want to aquire an IP address. I can connect to my AP with 128Bit WEP and I have full signal strenth, but no IP address gets assigned and then fails with a message of "limited or no conductivity". For ha ha's, I installed a netgear PC card just to verify it was not the notebook having problems, and it worked fine. I fully uninstalled the driver, rebooted, re-installed and the problem still exists. Any help on this matter would be great.

Joe
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-19-06, 02:14 PM Thread Starter   #2
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Interesting update:

When I disable WEP on the Access Point, the notebook can aquire and IP address with no issues.

So I guess there is a incompatability issue with Atheros & linksys when doing WEP.
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-20-06, 08:57 AM   #3
Newman_SCO
Member

 
Newman_SCO's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Scottyland

 
Try the WildPackets Atheros Wireless Driver v4.2.

http://www.wildpackets.com/support/downloads/drivers

The Atheros AR5005G is a good card. Up your encryption security to wpa or wpa2. You can get into wep 64bit/128bit networks in 15 minutes if there is plenty of traffic.

__________________
i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz / Artic Freezer 7 Pro / Asus P8Z68-V / Crucial M4 80gb
8GB Corsair Vengence DDR3 / Asus Xonar / Silver Power 500W / Fedora 14
-------------------------
Samsung Q320 (FC13) / Dell Hybrid Server (FC14)
Newman_SCO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-06, 04:30 PM Thread Starter   #4
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newman_SCO
Try the WildPackets Atheros Wireless Driver v4.2.

http://www.wildpackets.com/support/downloads/drivers

The Atheros AR5005G is a good card. Up your encryption security to wpa or wpa2. You can get into wep 64bit/128bit networks in 15 minutes if there is plenty of traffic.

That fails to work too. Well, the driver does not load, I should say..
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-24-06, 11:26 PM   #5
JCLW
Member

 
JCLW's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Back in Toronto

10 Year Badge
 
What Linksys AP?

As Newman mentioned WEP is pointless - just google "wep crack"

Update the Linksys firmware, and use WPA2 - Personal.

You'll need this MS Update (you should probably get it regardless): http://support.microsoft.com/kb/917021

__________________
♫♪ ☺ ♫♪
JCLW is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 07:50 AM Thread Starter   #6
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JCLW
What Linksys AP?

As Newman mentioned WEP is pointless - just google "wep crack"

Update the Linksys firmware, and use WPA2 - Personal.

You'll need this MS Update (you should probably get it regardless): http://support.microsoft.com/kb/917021

I have a WAP55AG AP. But when I go to linksys there are two version types. How do I know what I have?

I currently have firmware version 1.1.

Edit: I figured it out. I used Pre-shard key and all worked. I guess WEP does not work with older cards with SP2

Thanks for the help!

Last edited by Joeteck; 10-25-06 at 08:31 AM.
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?