• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How does data transfer physically work?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Brown399

Registered
Hey everybody! Newbie here -.-

Well maybe not entirely, but compared to some of you, absolutely. But all and all, i do know the basics of overclocking -have read a few of your yall's OC guides - and have a successfully clocked rig (3.92 =D).

Any way.. I'll get to the point.
I'm in the process of writing a research paper that is focusing on how to overlock a computer, but more specifically, why it works. My hopes are that it will end up being a technical guide to overclocking, but hey, we'll see.

I've been having a hell of a time finding information about the process that a computer goes through to process a piece of data or a binary file.

It obviously starts out someplace, the web or a flash drive, and then travels through the appropriate bus, then to the CPU's bus, then is processed, then ends up whereever it is directed...on a hardrive or a website...

i apologize if this is in the wrong section...but it seemed that this atleast partially appropriate. Also am sorry if it is a bit wordy or long. =x

However, i'm afraid that this logical progression won't be enough for my paper, or for that matter, my curiosity =p

Computer Engineering and Electrical Engineering are the fields you should be in :D

Here is the low down. So your Computer has power running through it, and there are thousands of buses of which data travels on, and there are a lot of different electric parts that manipulate the power on the computer. Lets take that knowledge and scale it down.