• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

10.35KB/s on a 56K!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AarontheJC

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
Southern USA
Well, for about 10 minutes straight this morning, I got a reported 11KB/s on a download p2p (KaZaa). Of course, my first thought was: "The computer's lying to me." I thought that, perhaps, I was being informed that I was receiving at 11KB/s, but that I was actually receiving at 5ish. Not so.

I went into the task manager and it recorded my transfer over a short interval and I just divided KB by time and got 10.35 KB/s. My downloaded data reflected this speed also. WOW!!! Too bad I can't do that all the time.

Now for my question: what caused this sudden spike?

Guess I just got lucky.
 

rugby

King of Cats Senior
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Chicago, IL
You can't have that high of a download on a 56k modem. It's impossible. Receiving modems at your ISP are provisioning 1 64k channel/modem, once that breaks down to 53K max over analog phone lines the max download you can possibly have is 6.625kbps. I think windows is lying to you.

Unless there's something weird going on between your modem and your ISP. But I doubt that.
 
OP
AarontheJC

AarontheJC

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
Southern USA
I thought so too. That's why I posted this. I can't explain it. I have the data, though. Somehow it happened. I was thinking that maybe I had downloaded it earlier, and that, for some reason there was a bottleneck in the system, and the data was downloaded without being reported on-screen. Then, as the bottleneck was removed, all of the un-reported information was suddenly reported along with the other information being downloaded at that time. This could be an explanation for such a high rate over a short period of time.

I can't explain it but, like I said, the data is on my hard drive and it had to get there somehow...
 

whooping_a_panda

Mr Slave Senior
Joined
Jul 24, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
ive had the same type of thing happen with me using gnucleus, its gotta be somthing with windows lying cause i got a screenshot of over 34.6 k/sec being downloaded (3 downloads running at over 10k/sec). Just weird if you ask me

but if anywon has an answer as to whats goin on id be intersested too
 

Hotsauce

Member
Joined
Feb 28, 2002
Location
Columbus, IN.
Could it have been a push thing going on here. That is the server that you were downloading from was pushing the bandwidth on you, rather than your connection pulling it?
 

RangerJoe

All that is Man!
Joined
Nov 24, 2001
Location
Stillwater, Oklahoma
i have d/led from my friend at over 15k/s, for about 45 minutes.....he does live about 6 miles away and everything, but still, not bad for 56k (this was when i had 56k btw)
 

Bmxpunk86pl

Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2001
Location
CT/Poland
i hit 100KB/sec on my 56K. I was downloading a mp3 and like i got half of it in like 3 seconds!! It was going like that for about 4 seconds. Dont know how the hell it happened. If u wanna believe me, go ahead, if u dont that alright to cuz i know what i saw. But if windows was lying to me then how did i get half of the mp3 in like 3 seconds? Wow that is some crazy $hit lol.
 

woodenman80

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2001
Location
UK
Same thing with 64k isdn

Ive got ISDN.
Connecting at 1 64k channel bt only alows that, my normal download speed is 7-9kbps, i know its lousy. But yesterday still connected at 64k the speed whilst downloading a OFP patch from Fileplanet speed slowly climbed up to a whopping 15kbps, as in i checked and the data was coming in at that speed for about 1-2mins then it cut back to 7.5kbps really slowly. It wasnt a spike but a controlled increase.

Who Knows but id love it to stay :)
 

takiwa

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
depending on how you have your computer set up to recieve data, what type of modem you have, what type of phone lines you have, and most importantly, what type of server you are downloading from, those kinds of speeds are very attainable...I would venture to say almost on a regular basis. I have a registry hack I did for my modem, and I can get anywhere from 6-8Kb/s average from a cable/dsl user on WinMX...whether some of you believe this or not is not my concern, I'm just happy that, on average, I can get a 5-6Mb file in roughly 12-15 min. :D Downloads.com shows me with a 41.7Kb/s bandwidth...and that's with me and my g/f sharing a 56K connection with 2 computers through one modem...
 

etnies

Registered
Joined
Jul 23, 2001
Wouldnt it be good if they would actually download at the right speed. 56k and 512k taht would rock :)

but 7kb on ISDN that is v. poor, i get that with 56k.!!
 

woodenman80

Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2001
Location
UK
The main cause is lousy networks.

The UK is real backwards with the whole internet thing. We fall far below most EU countries we are a czech standards (not that there is anything low like that) but for one of the suppsoedly moving countries it sux. Broadband is only now being implemented unlike germany etc, it is slow and tedious the same go's for the physical wires i live in the sticks next to an mod base, THere is a hudge chunk of fibre optics running right past and all i get is crap chewed copper. Same as our rail etc. The UK is basically bad. BT IF YOU READ THIS WHICH I HOPE YOU DO SPEED UP THAT DECREPID COMPANY OF YOURS.

P.s Does anyone know a good ISDN tuning program please.

:) save me from 7kbs
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
takiwa: c'mon, share the secret :D how do you get that bandwidth?

I think the explanation is a) compression or b) a backlog

Today I downloaded an MPEG (from THG) and I capped it at 3kb/s - stopped the speed limit and it came down at supposedly 30kb/s for a few seconds.
 

takiwa

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2001
I have 2 local ISP's in my area...Frontier Communications (city), and Bulloch Net (county). Frontier offers its business customers a faster solution for internet service than the residential users (most ISP's have something like this set up for businesses still on 56K). Their connection is faster, and the server is faster (don't ask me the details on this, because I couldn't find out THAT much about it w/o a business license and a 1 year contract, w/ deposit). What I did was found out the dial-up number to access this server, and changed my registry codes (that query the connection) so they all read 115,200KB/s, which is what every business in town connects at (you can usually get by with a 60,000KB/s speed on most residentail lines). I also called the telephone company, and had them come check the phone lines at my house...turns out one of them (my main line) was bad, and they replaced it with a new line free of charge :D. My connection problem was solved...I was on a faster server, connected at a higher speed...but my d/l times still sucked. I fixed it like this...I opened command prompt, and pinged my ISP with ever-increasing packet sizes until I timed out (this is the maximum packet transfer size supported by your ISP). I backed off a few on the packet size, and adjusted my MTU/RWIN settings in my registry to this number. My downloads have never been better :D

Might not work for everyone, but I did for me...I'm sure most people will get similar results off a residential line...
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
I'll see if I can't check this out...

EDIT: 16k before it times out, how do I alter the packet size?
(Windows XP Pro)
 
Last edited:
OP
AarontheJC

AarontheJC

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
Southern USA
I got my connection up to 60kbps! Unfortunately, my downloads only went up to 5 K/s. This is a flat rate. I downloaded last night and over the course of 8 hours, I got 145 MB of data. That's pretty good. Around 5K/s constant. Before, I was only connecting at 44000, and I got 4.2-4.5 per 8 hour span. I'm going to check out those sites and start a-tweakin'

Much thanks to takiwa!!!

I'll keep you posted.
 
OP
AarontheJC

AarontheJC

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2002
Location
Southern USA
Alright. I'm pinging a packet of 32bits with response over the interval (174ms-266ms). How's this? My downloads are still stuck at 5 KB/s, and are drifting downwards -as more people log on, I assume. How do I set my packet size? I'm connected (so it says) at 60kbps. I'm not pulling the speeds to reflect this connection speed, though, so what did I miss?
 

RnPgrosz

Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2001
Location
NJ
I thought that it was possible to get better speeds with 56k like 10-20 KB/s if you really tweak or use one of those external modems. I get 300-400 KB/s down. Broadband is great.