• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1080ti acting weird after Bios flash (and restoring original bios).

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

yoadknux

Member
Joined
May 6, 2016
I was bored and decided to flash the XOC bios on my Aorus 1080ti using nvflash64. The flash went fine, and I rebooted the PC (to switch to safe mode for DDU). Upon rebooting I got no display at all on my BenQ screen, even after going through all the DisplayPort outputs on my card. I shut down the computer, switched to a DVI-D connection, booted, and now it worked fine (card recognized, drivers installed, monitor ran at 144Hz, etc). I played around with the new OC options, got bored after a few hours, and switched back to my Aorus bios using the same method.

After switching back the the stock bios, I have two problems:
1. On stock bios, I cannot change the refresh rate of my screen to 144Hz (only 60Hz available). I am still on DVI-D and it should function at 144Hz (it did for the previous bios).
2. I can't get the DP/HDMI ports to work. Only the DVI-D.

Other than that I think the flash went fine with the afterburner finding the original OC settings I had for that bios, and Superposition gave the same score.

Updates about #1
- With the original bios, I discovered I can run some lower resolutions at 120Hz.
- I re-flashed the XOC bios and 144Hz works again. I also tried another modified FTW3 bios and it achieves 144Hz as well.

Any suggestions on how to fix those issues?

Thanks!
 
Last edited:

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
After you flashed back to the original, did you DDU the drivers and re-install?
 

RJARRRPCGP

Member
Joined
May 30, 2004
After you flashed back to the original, did you DDU the drivers and re-install?

That's what I dislike about Windows 10, I've been required to use that utility, just to get rid of the problem with Windows 10 installing a video driver without my permission, FFS!
 
OP
Y

yoadknux

Member
Joined
May 6, 2016
Ok guys, I have some really surprising updates, I think they're worth reading just for pure interest.

To clarify the original issue:
I found out that only my original bios gave me trouble with the refresh rate. I tried flashing FTW3, Zotac, XOC and other bioses on my AORUS card and they ALL achieved 144Hz. Only Aorus and Aorus Xtreme bioses didn't. That alone is surprising, right?

So I told myself "Eh, let's just stay with this FTW3 bios, it overclocks better anyway", and I can live with DVI-D.

Now for the updates:
I decided NOT to give up on the DP outputs (which still weren't working). After trying all the connections I finally found a DP output that did not give me POST (Yes, POST) problems, I got video output on DP, yet it locked me into the bios. I disabled fast boot and - DP OUTPUTS WORK AGAIN! I CAN GET INTO WINDOWS! WOHOO! But the funny things have not ended yet!

So I get into Windows with the DP, but the resolution is off, as if the GPU isn't recognized. Then I hear the Windows "device identified" sound, and the GPU driver was on (resolution & refresh rate changed automatically). I go into Afterburner and it shows me weird clocks. I go into GPU-Z, check the BIOS and to my COMPLETE SHOCK I see it identifies the card as XOC bios! But remember I had the FTW3 flashed! I thought it's a driver issue, so I DDU, reinstall drivers... STILL XOC.

Then I shut off the PC, removed the DP, plugged DVI-D back... And the FTW3 Bios returns! But how can it be like that?! Why do I have different BIOS for different PORTS of the GPUs?!

Anyway, I intend to try to re-flash FTW3 with the DP inserted later. We'll see what happens. This is so weird.
 
Last edited:
OP
Y

yoadknux

Member
Joined
May 6, 2016
That's weird. I'll try applying this fix during the night maybe. I can relate to those issues, with some ports of DP I had no post, even the lights on keyboard/mouse blacked out as if something wasn't properly initialized. Even with proper boot I sometimes don't see the bootloader/the windows logo.

As for the issues I had here, I don't know why it happened, but it seems that the GPU bios switched when I switched ports... Flashing the bios with the DP inserted allowed me to return to power-limited bios. XOC is nice but the gains are low compared to the heat and it doesn't perform as well at the same clock.
 

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
That's because XOC bios is pretty much specifically for sub ambient cooling. Read LN2.
There will be almost no gains at ambient (air cooled/water cooled) temps.

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

Does your card have dual bios by any chance?
I don't think so but not sure.
 
OP
Y

yoadknux

Member
Joined
May 6, 2016
That's because XOC bios is pretty much specifically for sub ambient cooling. Read LN2.
There will be almost no gains at ambient (air cooled/water cooled) temps.

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

Does your card have dual bios by any chance?
I don't think so but not sure.
Not that I know of. At least not as a "named feature"...