• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1600+ stepping question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Serraph

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Location
Corinth, MS
Just got a new XP 1600+ from newegg. It's an AGOIA! I'm happy.
So anyway here's the stepping.

AX1600MT3C
AGOIA0221MPM
41068992082

I know that AGOIA0221 means agoia stepping, year 02, week 21 but how do I know if it's an AGOIA "Y" or "K" or what? Also is this stepping very good? Thanks.
 
OP
Serraph

Serraph

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Location
Corinth, MS
I guess it's the first thing of the line under the stepping since mine is a "4" and there's only one 4 on my chip.
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Serraph said:
I guess it's the first thing of the line under the stepping since mine is a "4" and there's only one 4 on my chip.


Yup, you're right, you got AGOIA '4'. The first letter or number on the 3rd line (under the batch code, "AGOIA") is the '4', '9', 'K', 'F', 'Y', 'Z', and all the others people were getting.
Although yours is a '4' it's still AGOIA and should still hit 166FSB or 1750mhz, altho you might need a voltage increase
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
NyTe said:
ne1 having good results from the "9" AGOIA? I always seem to get the crappy chips...

As its still and agoia you should get to at least 1750mhz with it and with some voltage to 1800-1850
 

maxima88

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
NyTe said:
ne1 having good results from the "9" AGOIA? I always seem to get the crappy chips...

I had a "9" a few months ago, wouldn't got past 1.8ghz in the system in my sig. I sold it after a few days.
 

maxima88

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
NyTe said:
thanx for the help in motivation maxima...i needed a boost not a let down :(

Sorry NyTe, just keeping it real.

1.8ghz is still a very good o/c for a XP1600+ by today's standards.
 

deadseasquirrel

Registered
Joined
Oct 25, 2002
malon said:
steppings with letters are better overclockers that those with number :(

not necessarily. got the 1600+ 0204 K agoia from gameve and i couldnt get it to 166fsb for the life of me. didnt try super-high voltage (like 2v+), so maybe i could've tweaked it, but it wouldn't even friggin POST at 166fsb.

switched it out and got a 0222 4 agoia, slapped it to 166fsb and 1.825v and it came right up with no probs. everyt game and app i run is stable, but prime doesn't like me too much. i think i have a heat problem, but my new fan should arrive today, so that might fix it.

deadseasquirrel
 
OP
Serraph

Serraph

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Location
Corinth, MS
Here's a question. What can limit the amount of FSB that a unlocked chip can achieve? Is it the chip itself or is it because of pci/agp/harddrives/memory? For instance let's say I could lock down the pci and agp and drop the multiplier to something really low like7 or 8 . Will the only thing limiting how high the FSB could go be the memory or the memory AND the chip? Hope someone can clarify this for me.
 

ronin1967

Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2002
Location
Highland Park, NJ
assuming you could lock the PCI and AGP, than yes the only limit would be cpu and memory? just out of curiosty, how do you propose to lock the PCI/AGP?
 
OP
Serraph

Serraph

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Location
Corinth, MS
Supposedly motherboard based on the nforce2 chipset has them. I know they have AGP lock for sure and i've heard they had PCI lock as well but no one has been able to confirm the PCI lock and it hasn't been discussed for a while.