• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

166Mhz w/ kt333 ultra plat

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mariner1911

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Location
Lake Charles Louisiana
I finally got my board to post at 166Mhz FSB. Now I have a new problem. After about a hour or so my hard drives go crazy and I have to reinstall windows. My BIOS settings are as follows-
[email protected]
RAM-normal voltage and conservative timings
everything but my onboard raid is on and my other bios setting are at their defaults.

I am able to run 11.5X150 24/7 with the same voltage and RAM timings, but I really want to get it up higher. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 

Rcoe

Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2001
Location
Michigan
That is not a bad OC for that board. I could never get my ultra kt333 that high. My new Soyo kt400 is a little better, I got into the 170's before I ran into stability issues.
 

Ambiguous

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Location
Chicago,Illinios
i have the same board, i could only get to about 145 fsb, but i think its b/c i need a bigger psu, when ever i go past i get no video display but 166fsb is pretty good, i hope when i get my new psu i will get a higher fsb *crosses fingers* also i was readin somewhere if you lower the speed of you ram and raise your fsb it becomes more stable, i dunno if true but worth a shot.
 

DragonFire

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Location
St.Louis, MO, USA, Earth
At least you got windows to boot! When I tried for 164Mhz and 166Mhz my computer would try booting from a cd first and then when it went to load the harddrive I would get an error saying there was a read error and to restart......Even after going make to default settings it said the same thing. GRRRRR

I had to reset the bios and then ended up having to install XP windows XP again.


Also if your cpu is unlocked, when you restart your computer does it somestimes restart 3-4 times before you get a beep and then video?
 
OP
M

mariner1911

Registered
Joined
Aug 18, 2002
Location
Lake Charles Louisiana
Your read error sounds like the same problem I was having. My box would boot at 166Mhz and I could benchmark(WHICH WERE A NICE IMPROVEMENT) and play games, but the second I would restart I would get a read error saying that an important file was missing for windows to run. I just had a recent thought however, I have had my two hdd's on ide 1 ever since I installed linux, because linux does not like the raid. I have been wondering if having them on the raid controller might help them remain more stable. My reason being, I looked at my system resources and my pirmary and secondary IDE channels are using the ISA BUS. I haven't been able to tell what BUS the RAID channels use because I haven't enabled it yet. I'll probably give it a try tonight when I get home from work.
Oh I almost forgot, when I got my system to boot at 166Mhz I set my ram to 133Mhz so that when it added the 33Mhz from my overclock it would be at 166Mhz. So theoretically I was ovclocking my processor without overclocking my RAM.

Anybody have any thoughts on this?
 

diggingforgold

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Augusta Twp, MI
I had similar problems. Check hard drive temperatures, especially if you RAID! I found out that my Maxtor 7200's were burning up, and as a result, my files were corrupting. Many BSOD's and tons of errors.

If the hard drives are hot, throw a couple fans on them. Ever since I cooled my drives, I received no further missing file messages or BSOD's on XP.
 

LawyerLynn

Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2002
Location
Arkansas
The problem with the KT333 Dragon Platinum (I have one) is that there is no 1/5 divider available. When you up the fsb to 166 you've OC'd the PCI bus to 42 Mhz from it's default 33 Mhz and your HDD's and other stuff on the PCI bus can't handle the data throughput and you get an unstable system and risk trashing data on your hard drives. Depending on the luck of the draw, once you set your fsb above 140 (which translates to a 35 Mhz PCI bus) you are going to begin to face the possibility of OC'd PCI bus problems. If you get up to 155 (and a 39 Mhz PCI bus) without any problems you drew the ace in the hole as far as your board, CPU, RAM, Drives, etc. go. I'm currently running at 141 fsb and a 17 multiplier, it is stable and fast enough for me.
:cool:
 

jlin453

Member
Joined
Sep 18, 2002
Location
Austin, Texas
LawyerLynn said:
The problem with the KT333 Dragon Platinum (I have one) is that there is no 1/5 divider available. When you up the fsb to 166 you've OC'd the PCI bus to 42 Mhz from it's default 33 Mhz and your HDD's and other stuff on the PCI bus can't handle the data throughput and you get an unstable system and risk trashing data on your hard drives. Depending on the luck of the draw, once you set your fsb above 140 (which translates to a 35 Mhz PCI bus) you are going to begin to face the possibility of OC'd PCI bus problems. If you get up to 155 (and a 39 Mhz PCI bus) without any problems you drew the ace in the hole as far as your board, CPU, RAM, Drives, etc. go. I'm currently running at 141 fsb and a 17 multiplier, it is stable and fast enough for me.
:cool:

Yup, what he said.

I have mine at 155 stable with no problems in prime95. I can benchmark with 158 with no errors, but still get errors in prime95. At 159, I get missing/corrupt file. You guys think adding a hard drive cooler would help this?

Btw, if you get this problem, you don't have to reinstall windows. You just have to replace the corrupt file with a working one from the XP cd.