• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1800+ Tbred in. Pics and OC-Results as time goes on

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
Well i had to format my system because of this: http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=141406 (anyone wanna help me w/ why this happened?)

so i will not be able to overclock this processor until tomorrow because i gotta reinstall EVERYTHING and make backups of my other partitions just for safety.

been runnin prime 95 at 1.7v for a while just to give this a little burn in and get the artic silver to settle. (default v is 1.5v)

cpu.jpg

stepping1.jpg


before installin the processor i lapped the AX7 at 600grit w/ good results:

also, i removed the POS northbridge heatsink and fan and put on a nice vantec iceberg. the stock thermal grease that didnt even cover 1/4 of the chip...

like stated i will update results tomorrow of maybe even later tonight if i get the chance.

btw, the cpu IS unlocked factory default for all of you disbelievers. i got a KX7-333
 

specific

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
*waiting for results*

Did you v-mod your KX7? Wondering if i should try mine, because i can't do 166fsb with 1T on my ram at max V for this board.
 
OP
Emericana

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
yes i have my board voltmodded very easy to do. on pallys i usually used 1.95v on cpu and 3.1v on ram.

i took my vmods off tho right now (got the clip on type) and probably wont be using the one on the CPU.


anyways i decided what i am going to do. I am going to run prime95 for 2 hours each using the FSB of 166mhz and up the mult each time it becomes unstable. once it becomes unstable i will back down a little and see what the max speed i can run at 1.7v is.

I cant post CPUID shots yet cause i dont have photoshop reinstalled yet and i am leaving for about two hours. so far prime 95 has been chugging away fine at 10.5x166.

if when i come back it is still goin i will up the mult to 11x and then try again, then 11.5, then finally the glory number 12x (12x166=2ghz!)
 

youthemandan

Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Location
Logan, UT
I have nearly the same chip mine is just 122 instead of 130. I will post my results tommorrow. I have had this chip sitting on the desk for two days. I really disppointed myself by being able to hold off and not install it
 
OP
Emericana

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
so far this is a great chip. Stable at this speed w/ 1.7v for 30mins... i am gonna run prime the whole day tomorrow with this speed just to see if it is rock stable because 11.5x166 is comin close to 2ghz.

1830 copy.gif
 

Pinky

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Narf City, USA
Still running mine, folding for a day straight, average use... 1,7v ... watercooling Friday evening, new 8k3a, and samsung PC2700 should put me in the 2100mhz range with about 1.85v... so far VERY pleased with this chip! You should be able to get more from it, this revision code looks promising.

1950mhz.jpg
 
OP
Emericana

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
that CPUID shot is makin me look foward to the cpu a lot.

However, i still as planned am gonna run prime all day tomorrow at 11x166 just to make sure this is rock stable just so i can know for sure what is incase somethin funny happens in the future.

slow and steady wins the race lol.
 

specific

Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2002
Location
Atlanta, GA
Emericana,

What clips are you using? Alligators? I remember seeing a discrepency in a couple of sites with which points to connect. Can you give me a link to one that's a sure thing?

Thanks in advance
 
OP
Emericana

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
specific follow this guide: http://www.liquidninjas.com/reviews.php?op=showcontent&id=9

and you are good to go.

Now i slept in a nother room last night because i wanted to see how high this thing could go faster. it did prime 95 at 1830mhz with 1.7v ROCK STABLE.

Right now it is chuggin away at 11.5x166...

gonna run it till school ends today so i will try 2ghz assuming this is stable at night.

1913.gif


so far i am VERY pleased w/ this chip. well worth the money
 

hdj

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2002
Location
new orleans
I just put a system together for a friend yesterday with the same cpu.
Other components: msi kt4v-l, corsair pc2700xms 256mb, albatron geforce4 128mb. and some random stuff he had.

We didn't do a lot of horsing around, but we had the cpu running at 166*11.5 at 1.6 volts. I ran a sandra mem bench and a cpu bench once to stress it a little, and it seemed to run fine.

I am sure this will prove not to be completely stable, but this looks really promising. The only problem is that the board will only give the cpu 1.6V max, so I'll have to do some bridge work to set it to 1.85V default. I expect to get at least 2ghz out of this thing.

Oh yeah, vantec aeroflow cooler. It rocks!
 
OP
Emericana

Emericana

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2002
Location
Boulder CO
i have not tested it in a 266a board so i would not know. but YES they are unlocked in 333 and up boards.

well, after runnin prime for 7.5 hours it IS stable at 11.5x166 with only 1.7v!!!!! what a chip.

i am about to start doing prime at 2ghz. can i get a w00t w00t!

2ghz.gif


i would love to see this stable. imagine it 2ghz with medium aircooling (ax7 and 50cfm) at only 1.7v!
 

Pinky

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Narf City, USA
KT266A unlock the bottom multipliers 'cause the L3 needing to be joined on later tbreds isn't cut on these lower clocked ones... but the higher multipliers are not available on the KT266A boards...
 

Pinky

Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2001
Location
Narf City, USA
Emericana said:
i would love to see this stable. imagine it 2ghz with medium aircooling (ax7 and 50cfm) at only 1.7v!

I have a feeling that at the rate you're testing this proc you'll be buying a clawhammer when you've reached its max. hehe