• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

2.0 C1 stepping o/c to 3.26Ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Fwiler

Registered
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
Just thought I would report. I traded my old 2.0 for one that came out of a Dell box.

It's a Malay SL6GQ
1.7v on an Epox 4g4a+
water cooled with a maze 3. 33c idle 39c load

Dhrystone ALU 9308 MIPS
Whetstone FPU 1879/4280 MFLOPS

Integer 13103
Floating Point 16441

3dmark 14513 on [email protected] 300/650

Not as impressive as that 1.8. But not bad non the less.
 
OP
F

Fwiler

Registered
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
I'm pretty sure my power supply is holding me back. I forgot what brand it is, but its only 300w.

The reason I think this, is because my voltages all read perfect at 3Ghz. After that they go down hill. I get 5.03 at 3Ghz, and 4.76 at 3.26Ghz.

Plus I can hear my fans adjust speed when I start apps!
 

cack01

Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2002
Location
San diego or UC Davis
Fwiler said:

Plus I can hear my fans adjust speed when I start apps!

You possibly might need to put your fans on powers cord not passing though or connected to your HDD.

Thats pretty funny though, it probably is the PSU holding it back. Thats pretty awsome.
 
OP
F

Fwiler

Registered
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
You possibly might need to put your fans on powers cord not passing though or connected to your HDD.

The Hd and floppy share one power cord. Plus the fans don't do that at 3Ghz. Only when the cpu is being used, and the fans go back to normal speed when the cpu usage drops.

I've been recommended a 430w true power. What do you guys think?

I would like to get a pcp&c ps, but too much $$$
 
OP
F

Fwiler

Registered
Joined
Aug 20, 2002
I took a screenshot of my desktop with Sandra, wcpuid, and mbm, but its 267KB. How do I shrink it to fit 51K?
 

ol' man

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Fwiler said:
I took a screenshot of my desktop with Sandra, wcpuid, and mbm, but its 267KB. How do I shrink it to fit 51K?

Make it a jpeg if you hadn't yet. You can also shrink jpegs while reducing quality though. Otherwise zip it into a zip file and give a link.
 

arklab

Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2001
If you have a deep case, you could try the PS I just started using on my AMD Dualie.
It's a Robaton 600W (although their 500W is probably as good with a different power distribution - more 12v and less 3.3v - 'pends on your needs).

It is the quietest PS I've ever (not) heard, but you should know it uses a streight through airflow design, not from the bottom.

It got a good review at LostCircuits.
http://www.lostcircuits.com/advice/robanton/

The 600W is $80 at Outpost.com
http://shop2.outpost.com/product/3446743/

They also have the 500W for $70.
http://shop2.outpost.com/product/3446723/

Hope this helps!
 

micamica1217

Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2002
Fwiler said:


The Hd and floppy share one power cord. Plus the fans don't do that at 3Ghz. Only when the cpu is being used, and the fans go back to normal speed when the cpu usage drops.

I've been recommended a 430w true power. What do you guys think?

I would like to get a pcp&c ps, but too much $$$

nice OC....and I have the true 430w.....it's nice.:D

mica
 

hc1001

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2002
Location
NY
ur maze 3 setup should be the otherway around. the center should be inlet and the one closest tot eh edge should be outlet if im looking at the pics correctly...
 

advanR

Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2002
Until you learn more about robaton and learn if the companies PSUs are good or not, i would not buy one. PSUs are a grey area. Most are rated falsly. Some putting out more, but most putting out way less.

Antec true powers are pretty good psus. Also, i suggest Sparkle's PSUs. I just bought the 400w and it is way more than i need. The 300w Sparkle has been tested at 390w, and the 350w has been tested at 450w.

Checkout the tomshardware roundup. http://www.tomshardware.com/howto/02q4/021021/index.html

The Conrad fsp350 and Verax fsp300 are relabeled sparkle PSUs. Sparkle PSUs are also some of the cheapest PSUs around. My 400w was $60 something at newegg. While the 350w is around $40.
 

FIZZ3

Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2002
Location
NL, Europe
Fwiler said:
Just thought I would report. I traded my old 2.0 for one that came out of a Dell box.

It's a Malay SL6GQ
1.7v on an Epox 4g4a+
water cooled with a maze 3. 33c idle 39c load

Dhrystone ALU 9308 MIPS
Whetstone FPU 1879/4280 MFLOPS

Integer 13103
Floating Point 16441

3dmark 14513 on [email protected] 300/650

Not as impressive as that 1.8. But not bad non the less.

Very nice! Is it Prime95 stable at that speed?