• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

200 watt PSU good enough for Tualain?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zervun

Member
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
Location
Portland, OR
Should be fine unless you are like me and running 13,756 drives and addons that all require lots o' volts with your setup. If you got the standard cdrom, diskdrive, 1 harddrive, 2 fans you should be fine.
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
i would say NO
even for a Tualain running at stock....
if you onlt have 1 HDD and a CD-ROM you may be able to get by...
But dont plan on running any good 3D card in that system.

running a 200watt PSU is really asking for trouble
 

ShiFtY2001

Registered
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Location
New Zealand
I am running a cele [email protected], 2 seagate bara IV hdds, cdr, dvd, 2 fans, geforce2 ti and tnt2m64 on a 235W generic supply. It runs fine. If you dont have enough power you will know about it. I dont think you need a 300W supply unless you run AMD's... A good quality 200W supply should be fine.
 

ol' man

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
ShiFtY2001 said:
I am running a cele [email protected], 2 seagate bara IV hdds, cdr, dvd, 2 fans, geforce2 ti and tnt2m64 on a 235W generic supply. It runs fine. If you dont have enough power you will know about it. I dont think you need a 300W supply unless you run AMD's... A good quality 200W supply should be fine.

Run it and see. SOmetimes they work and sometimes they don't. I had a 250w that didn't work.
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
i had problems running a 250W with a Celeron 633 @ 950....
but then again i had 3 HDD's, CD-R, DVD, and only the overclocking gods know how many fans.......
So i started running Dual PSU's, and it was good :)
 

deez

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2001
Location
Louisville, KY
A good quality 300W PSU should be your minimum especially if you have several drives, AGP card, extra fans etc..
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
deez said:
A good quality 300W PSU should be your minimum especially if you have several drives, AGP card, extra fans etc..

I STRONGLY second that. (running a 350 myself)
 

TASOS

Member
Joined
May 16, 2001
Location
Athens Greece
It all depends on the PSU specs...and quality
But even so...you will be running on the edge with
that 200W PSU.
Just keep your devices to the basic ones (min)
 
OP
M

mikyseee

Registered
Joined
Aug 21, 2001
Location
under a rock
This will only run 1 cdrom, 1 floppy, 1 hdd, pos video card and sound card and a nic. I'm only planning on overclock to as far as I can get with default voltage. There will be one case fan and a stock hsf.

The psu is from a dell. So should that be a decent quality psu?
 

JaY_III

Senior of BX
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
mikyseee said:
The psu is from a dell. So should that be a decent quality psu?

And built by the LOWEST BIDDER
200W will/should work.
BUT NOT RECOMENDED.....
have I mentioned yet its asking for trouble?