• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3.06 is on newegg....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

looktall

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Location
perth.wa.au
wow. you mean a computer component is actually cheaper in australia than in the us? :eek:

makes a change.
they can be got for as low as $1369 maybe even lower, i haven't exactly been comparing prices.

EDIT: btw, AU$1369 = roughly US$690
 

cyber mouse45

Cyber Cheesiest Senior
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Location
SC
Wow that's a heck of a lot of money. Well maybe the 2.8 will drop in price a little now, which would be good. :)
 

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Jeff Bolton said:


exactly :D when the 2.8 gets down to about $200 i'll probably pick one up.

jeff


I'll do the same to that 3.066GHZ or newer ones. I'll never pay $200+ for a processor. ( I paid $218 for PIII 733MHZ 2 years ago)
 

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Jeff Bolton said:
well i paid $200 for my 2.26, and i don't consider that very expensive considering intel's prices. i'd never pay $200 for an AMD.

jeff

Two years ago I paid $218(include shipping) for a PIII 733MHZ. And it couldn't even do 825MHZ stable.
 

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
lol, that 3.066GHZ chip is very popular :) It's out of stock in newegg already, and the price has gone up to $730 from $720.
 

Ross

Senior Intel-lectual
Joined
May 20, 2002
Googlegear has had them for $690 for over a week now. I am surprised Newegg is that much more. It's obvious why I haven't seen more than 1 moderate (stock Vc) OC report on them :) If I see a few that can reach 3.6+ or so on air, I might consider one when they drop to a little more sane price.

With 1.8 and 2.0 C1s hitting 3.2+ though, one of them and a DCDDR mobo for less $$ than the 3.06 by itself might be in order...
 

Burning Phoenix

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2001
Location
Schenectady NY
oops said:


Two years ago I paid $218(include shipping) for a PIII 733MHZ. And it couldn't even do 825MHZ stable.

Should of went to either P3 700 or P3 800 for both have 100mhz fsb. Your 733 is already at 133mhz fsb. I had 4 or 5 700's last year and everyone did 933mhz (133fsb) without a problem while others i maxed at 1022 and 1035.
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
Ross said:
With 1.8 and 2.0 C1s hitting 3.2+ though, one of them and a DCDDR mobo for less $$ than the 3.06 by itself might be in order...
you could probably slip in a couple sticks of memory and still be under 730.
 

Maxvla

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2002
Location
OKC
Burning Phoenix said:


Should of went to either P3 700 or P3 800 for both have 100mhz fsb. Your 733 is already at 133mhz fsb. I had 4 or 5 700's last year and everyone did 933mhz (133fsb) without a problem while others i maxed at 1022 and 1035.
mumbles lyrics... If i could turn back time...
 

oops

Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
Burning Phoenix said:


Should of went to either P3 700 or P3 800 for both have 100mhz fsb. Your 733 is already at 133mhz fsb. I had 4 or 5 700's last year and everyone did 933mhz (133fsb) without a problem while others i maxed at 1022 and 1035.

I agree, but when I ordered that PIII 733MHZ processor, there was NO 700MHZ or 800MHZ. There were 733, 833, 866, etc.(and I do remember once there was a 766MHZ, but it disappeared later) And those 700MHZ and 800MHZ were out later.

Also, It's too late already......

1. I already bought that PIII 733MHZ

2. I already gave away my PIII 733 system :)

3. I already have 2 high end P4 systems


:)
 

Ross

Senior Intel-lectual
Joined
May 20, 2002
Hehe...my first OC experience was a Cel 633 that I took out of an ancient HP...got up to 1017 with just Vc and and a Volcano 7 :)