• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3 choices, constrained budget. CPU, GPU.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Yensen

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Location
Finland
I'm helping a friend put together a new comp, and we've narrowed it down to 3 choices.

AMD Phenom X2 550
ATI HD 5850

AMD Phenom X4 965
ATI HD 4890

Intel i7 920
A cheapo 100€ GPU

The other parts have already been selected: Decent motherboard depending on choice, 4GB 1300mhz DDR3 RAM, a 24" monitor (1920x1080). PSU, HDD, etc. etc.

It will mostly be used for gaming, watching videos, surfing, music etc.

What it all comes down to really are these questions:
Will the x2 550 choke the 5850?
Is the x2 550 powerful enough to keep up for at least a couple of years?
Which way would you swing on this?

You can also suggest a different setup if you've got a better one for less than 450€. It should be around 450$, seeing as how prices here are high as s**t compared to the US.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Is this person overclocking a lot? Any reason for an overpriced CPU (x4 965)? Get a x4 955 BE and HD4890.

If they are overclocking, you should get DDR3 1600 ram.

Or try an i5 and 1156 mobo..

If this person is gaming, why would get a cheapo GPU??????????
 
OP
Yensen

Yensen

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Location
Finland
Thanks for the quick reply. We've decided upon the 4870. (found a good deal)

The only thing left is the CPU.

There won't be any overclocking due to laziness I think.

What's the best bang for the buck CPU in the x2 550 to x4 965 range at the moment?

*cracks knuckles and starts googling phenom reviews
 

Evilsizer

Senior Forum Spammer
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
i would say go i5, in raw cpu performance it is faster then the x4 per clock.
 

Stratus_ss

Overclockix Snake Charming Senior, Alt OS Content
Joined
Jan 24, 2006
Location
Ontario Canada
If you are wanting AMD, the Propus 630 quad core is quad core on the cheap, and my understanding is its a good chip
 

rainless

Old Member
Joined
Jul 20, 2006
i would say go i5, in raw cpu performance it is faster then the x4 per clock.

I second that. Some great i5 deals at the moment. There's that deal at fry's where you can get the CPU AND motherboard for $199.

For a price/performance ratio, there's no beating that.
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
I'm helping a friend put together a new comp, and we've narrowed it down to 3 choices.

AMD Phenom X2 550
ATI HD 5850

AMD Phenom X4 965
ATI HD 4890

Intel i7 920
A cheapo 100€ GPU

The other parts have already been selected: Decent motherboard depending on choice, 4GB 1300mhz DDR3 RAM, a 24" monitor (1920x1080). PSU, HDD, etc. etc.

It will mostly be used for gaming, watching videos, surfing, music etc.

What it all comes down to really are these questions:
Will the x2 550 choke the 5850?
Is the x2 550 powerful enough to keep up for at least a couple of years?
Which way would you swing on this?

You can also suggest a different setup if you've got a better one for less than 450€. It should be around 450$, seeing as how prices here are high as s**t compared to the US.

You're going to be a sad person with a no-post system if you try to run your 2x2GB RAM in a 1366 system with an i7920.

Get a low end lynnfield system with a cheap i5 and a cheapish motherboard.
 

jgv115

Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Location
Australia
Theocnoob, you can run your computer normally it's just you are not fully utilizing the triple channel of bandwidth that X58 allows you. It's just like running 1 stick of RAM on P45
 

WiZiD

New Member
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Location
NH
I took a look at the Propus 630 quad core. And I disagree. That is only a 2.6 gig processor. I feel that if your gonna built a system you should make one that your not going to have to upgrade in a month or so. Do yourself a favor and make a good one. A good power supply should be first on your list. Remember that the power supply is the back bone to you whole computer. Components tend to freeze and lock up when they are not getting enough power. I found one that I use in two of my systems fpr$239.99 at
http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-CMPSU...8?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1257382042&sr=8-4
Next I think you should build your system around your processor I found for $66 a duel core 2.9 gig socket AM3
http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-CMPSU...8?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1257382042&sr=8-4
not the best processor and not something I would get for myself but if your on a budget that one would work for most of everything so far and when it time to upgrade you would have the AM3 motherboard to place a larger processor in when you have the extra money. My next part would be the video card and that would depend on what chipset you chose for a mother board. If you get an ati chipset I found this one for $69
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102855
Now that’s about $370 bucks. You still need ram and a mother board and they a cheap.
Well that’s a start I’ve rambled on enough for now. When you buy parts read the reviews I know I do!!
CoolMax 1,300 Watt ,
Phenom II x4 940 3ghz,
DFI 790FX B M2RSH,
8gig G.Skill DDR2-1066,
Thermaltake Viax cooler,
2 Sapphire HD 4870x2 in Crossfire (4gig video memory),
2 VelociRaptor 75gig 10,000 rpm drives in raid 0,
CMSTACKER 830 S2 case,
Dell SP2309w 23” wide screen 80,000 to 1 contrast ratio 2048x1152
Vista 64bit ultimate
 

jamesman32

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Location
Suffield, Connecticut
WiZid, why on earth would you buy a 1000w PSU, and pair it with a low power dual core, and a low power GPU? The Propus 630 would outperform it anyway. You'd need a pretty high clocked dual to beat out a quad in just about any test. Remember, you can't always compare CPUs clock for clock. Besides, he already decided on the PSU and GPU anyway. I have a feeling you're trolling...

OP - I'd go with the x4 955. Considering you only bought the 4870, there should be ample room in the budget. 965 is sorta a waste for just 200mhz more.