• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3 same gpu 1 for physx?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Welcome!

I believe so, though not sure why you would bother. You should have enough horsepower between the three cards to easily handle PhysX. What is your complete system specs including monitor(s) resolution?
 
OP
C

crypto

Registered
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
no I just interesting becous I have read in nvidia site thet if you use 3 same gpu you must instal 3way sli but I dont know if I understood exactly. this is from nvidia site ->>>>>>> Can I run my 3-way SLI configuration as 2-way SLI, connect two monitors, and then use the third graphics card that is not in SLI to connect two additional monitors?
No. A PC containing three graphics cards with the same GPU can only be run in 3-way SLI.-<<<<<<<
 
Last edited:

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
The question you asked here is different than the question at the Nvidia site...

You asked here: If you could run PhysX with a 3rd card while 2 are in SLI.
@ Nvidia site: If you could run 2 way SLI on 2 monitors and then 3rd on two additional monitors.

What are you actually asking? :)
 
OP
C

crypto

Registered
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
yes but maybe answer is this anyways. isnot it? "A PC containing three graphics cards with the same GPU can only be run in 3-way SLI"<<--- if you can run 2 way sli+physx with 3 same gpu, why cannot run 3rd with no 3 way sli?
 
Last edited:
OP
C

crypto

Registered
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
no I have only 1 gpu :D so you think that I can 2way sli +physx with 3 same gpu ok thx I interested this mostly...
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I honestly wouldn't bother to set PhysX to a specific card... with 3 in SLI, there is plenty of horsepower to run it... heck even one card its fine. If you do that, you will be spending a ton of money without a lot of returns.
 

OC-NightHawk

Member
Joined
May 13, 2003
Is NVidia still updating the PhysX features? Does it make a big difference?

Instead of getting three cards my suggestion would be to sell the two you have and buy two of a higher tier if you need more performance.
 
OP
C

crypto

Registered
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
I want just learn thats why I ask. if I will take some money than I can try something if I know how to do.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
What ARE you trying to do?? Perhaps if you tell us we can point you in the right direction. We are not getting the whole story here...just random questions.
 
Last edited:

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
Joined
Jan 10, 2012
you can point PhysX to the third card that is not in sli with the other two.
but you can just leave that on auto and it will be just fine.
 

funsoul

Senior Member
Joined
May 3, 2004
Location
NJ, USA
Almost regardless of what you're trying to accomplish, the 3 cards in sli (which is what I run in my setup) will beat anything that's possible if you drop one card to just handle physx. Last time I checked it out, there's very little support for physx 'out there'.
sli-config.jpg
 
OP
C

crypto

Registered
Joined
Feb 26, 2016
I just asked 1 question. 2way sli+physx if I can run with SAME GPUS I understood, you told me YES now my question finished thats it :D I amnot interesting what is better in this question... thx
 

Soulcatcher668

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
Almost regardless of what you're trying to accomplish, the 3 cards in sli (which is what I run in my setup) will beat anything that's possible if you drop one card to just handle physx. Last time I checked it out, there's very little support for physx 'out there'.
View attachment 176104

Hey funsoul, Can you try it out? I am kind of curious now.

I have my doubts that you can run 2 way SLI and have a third card doing anything. I don't think the controller could do it.

If you have time that is.


FOR SCIENCE :muahaha:
 

TaCoSwInDeZ

Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Location
Huntsville, Al
I tried this once (not with 2 cards in SLI however) when I upgraded to my GTX570 using my old GTX260 card as a dedicated PhysX card. I quickly ditched the idea when I saw absolutely no increase in performance in the games I played. I would say that unless you play a game that directly supports PhysX then just run 3-way SLI and enjoy more overall graphics power. It really is a waste of a GPU for dedicated PhysX.
 

Soulcatcher668

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2012
I wonder if his multi monitor setup with throw a wrench in the spokes....

I would suggest running the test on a single monitor. Surround adds an entire other level of complication.

I tried this once (not with 2 cards in SLI however) when I upgraded to my GTX570 using my old GTX260 card as a dedicated PhysX card. I quickly ditched the idea when I saw absolutely no increase in performance in the games I played. I would say that unless you play a game that directly supports PhysX then just run 3-way SLI and enjoy more overall graphics power. It really is a waste of a GPU for dedicated PhysX.

That has been established... I just would like to know for the hell of it.

Most fun things are not done for practical reasons. :D