• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3DMark03 Problems on 9800Pro>XT Bios

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RetroGrade

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
I ran 3DMark03 just recently with a XT BIOS on my HIS Excalibur IceQ 9800Pro and I saw some strange lines that appeared with certain types of lighting and seemed to outline everything in the "shadows" path. The lines were blocky like un-antialiased edges and only appeared when certain types of lighting appeared. This happened on three tests: Battle of Proxycon, Troll's Liar and RagTroll and nothing else. I wonder if this is becuase I may have an R350 core or if it somehow 3DMark's fault. I haven't checked my core yet but most people say their recent IceQ's are the R360 but I can't be sure mine is. If anyone has any information about my problems, please help out!
 

3line

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
I've been having problems with shearing on the desktop ever since I upgraded to the XT bios on mine (I own an ICEQ too). Funny thing is that it's actually an R360 core, since I can now monitor temps.

What bios did you use?
 
Last edited:
OP
R

RetroGrade

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Funny... I cannot monitor temps at all. I used the PowerColor BIOS that DDR posted. The one from the first link that said either "Quite Fast" or "Pretty Fast" in paranthesis. I am also using Omega 2.5.51 driver. I don'y know if I've got the R360. I'll need to check soon.

EDIT: Mine does not shear on desktop however, only on the 3DMark03 tests. The three listed above.
 
OP
R

RetroGrade

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
I'm not sure what RAMs I have. I don't know how to take of the IceQ ramsinks so I don't know if I have Samsung or Hynix... I used the BIOS that doesn't say which ram but the other two PowerColors were for Samsung but I couldn't be sure. Is there a way to determine the RAMs by taking off the VGA Silencer and looking at the core?
 

3line

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
You can do what I did. Install two bioses using different memories and see which one doesn't **** up your video card. With the samsung bios I was practically booting blind (screen corruption).
 
OP
R

RetroGrade

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Well, looks like the BIOS I'm using right now is for Samsung chips. Do you know of any good Hynix BIOSes???
 

3line

Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2004
did you save your original bios? You can use an ati bios editor to check in that case

There should be an xt bios out for the HIS card with samsung memory.
 
OP
R

RetroGrade

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Amazing. I'm using a Samsung BIOS with Hynix memories. I used BiosEdit and it says I've got Hynix and R350 but I think this is wrong as many of the IceQ's are R360. Now, time to find a Hynix HIS BIOS...
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
You can't escape that corruption. It's perfectly normal, and to date hasn't been found in anything other than 3DMark03 for XT flashed R350's. The R350's seem to be lacking some shader features that the R360's have, so they have rendering errors, and you get those strange artifacts.
 
OP
R

RetroGrade

Registered
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Okay... I guess I'll have to live with the corruption. I just tried a BB BIOS for Hynix and it refused to flash, normally and with force flash. But isn't it a little strange that a Samsung BIOS is running fine on Hynix memories? Anyway, I still gained 300+ 3DMark03 marks and it runs all of my games on highest detail settings. Thanks guys!
 

Gautam

Senior Benchmark Addict
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Location
SF Bay Area
RetroGrade said:
Okay... I guess I'll have to live with the corruption. I just tried a BB BIOS for Hynix and it refused to flash, normally and with force flash. But isn't it a little strange that a Samsung BIOS is running fine on Hynix memories? Anyway, I still gained 300+ 3DMark03 marks and it runs all of my games on highest detail settings. Thanks guys!
Don't ask me about the memory, lol, I'm using a 256 mb Hynix BIOS on my 128mb Samsung card!

I think the BIOSes have native support for more than one memory type, it seems.