• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3dmark2001 nature demo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bdog

New Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2001
Has anyone successfully rendered this test yet? I saw it in the demo and it looks amazing! I have a geforce2GTS and I guess its still not good enough to do pixel shading. What 3d card do you need to use pixel shading?

bdog
 

AKDUDE

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2001
I didn't see it either on a Radeon. I cruised the forums on the net today, and I have yet to hear someone say they saw it.
The guys over at Rage3d.com were saying that the Radeon supports it, but its not working for some reason.
AKDUDE
 

Placid

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2001
Location
Connecticut
When I was able to get to the 3d mark 2001 faq page today it said some tests will only work on a Geforce 3,radeon or Kyro II.
It also said some test will only work on a 100% compatible DX8 card.
I think the last part might have something to do with a video cards drivers.
 

OC-Master

Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2001
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
Because I feel the need to run the Nature benchmark in 3Dmark2001 and maybe someone in the forums knows something..

Seriously, I swore I heard something awhile back where someone had a patch to make this thing work. I dont see why not since it works in the freakin demo already LOL and renders just fine. Why not on the benchmark???

BTW, anyone with a GF2 should check out the 3Dmark2001 pro, since the pro allows you to view the demo!


Plus its fun bumping a thread back from Q1 2001 hehe. Goes to show you how good O/C forum really is for holding archives!:beer:


DS-Master
 

madsam

Member
Joined
May 3, 2002
Location
New York
i see it...

i got a gf4 ti4400, and i see it, however half the scenes don't play..including the nature scene on my other pc, which has a gf2 mx400.....

i see it all with the gf4, and i recomend the 3Dmark for anyone who gets 3D glasses and would like to see what works well and what doesn't. the ocean scene at the end is totally cool in 3D......sorry, i know nothing about the patches you are looking for, but i had too much coffee and have to type.......... ;)
 

o770

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2001
now i think there are at least three...
i posted about the possible cause for the slow nature test in some systems in one of these threads. it was something i got from the rivatuner help and related to a refresh rate issue if i recall well.
 

flaming gerbil

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2001
i love it though! look how long ago that was and there are still no games that need the special programmble shaders that are required to run the nature test from the g3/g4 line! now 3dlabs has a new chip being released that is even way more programmable than the 3/4 line chips:p some day someone games will be madel that need this stuff. just ain't paying for it now. plus it was fun to see postings from people i haven't seen post in a long time, openfriday, placid, akdude.
 

Bigsexy

Member
DS-Master said:
Because I feel the need to run the Nature benchmark in 3Dmark2001 and maybe someone in the forums knows something..

You will never be able to run "Nature" in 3dm2001 with a GF2 ! Even not with a GF4MX!! - Only cards it works with is Radeon 8500, Radeon 9700, GF3Ti200, GF3Ti500, GF4Ti4200, GF4Ti4400, GF4Ti4600 ! - Cards that support DirectX 8.1 !!!

EDIT: Maybe I forgot the one or another card - but it will NEEEEEVER run /w a GF2
 

AZN

AznSniper
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
yeah the nature test is awesome. But i would love to have the purple ocean as my screen saver. probably wouldnt be a good idea, since its so VC intense and may take up more CPU power then a screen saver should... but i do love it.:D
 

AZN

AznSniper
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
Bigsexy said:


You will never be able to run "Nature" in 3dm2001 with a GF2 ! Even not with a GF4MX!! - Only cards it works with is Radeon 8500, Radeon 9700, GF3Ti200, GF3Ti500, GF4Ti4200, GF4Ti4400, GF4Ti4600 ! - Cards that support DirectX 8.1 !!!

EDIT: Maybe I forgot the one or another card - but it will NEEEEEVER run /w a GF2
what are u talking about? my onboard video even supports it. :D jk. i wish:)
 

AZN

AznSniper
Joined
Mar 28, 2002
dansonang said:
same here doesn't work for me as well
yo yo yo... Dang Son! what are u doing with a northy at stock speed? that is illegal here.... u can get in trouble man. Hurry and get that sucker over 2ghz!;)