• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

3x750GB Cav.BLK in RAID 5

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Aynjell

Anything special I need to do to get 3 750GB caviar blacks to run right in RAID 5? I got them really cheap and I'm determined to get them going in a raid 5. At less than 60$ a piece, I can't really be arsed to send 'em back.

Anybody, any ideas?

Automiketic

Do you plan to run them via onboard chipset or do you plant to use a RAID card. I'm no pro when it comes to storage but I do know that for RAID 5, a decent RAID card is highly recommended.

OP
A

Aynjell

Do you plan to run them via onboard chipset or do you plant to use a RAID card. I'm no pro when it comes to storage but I do know that for RAID 5, a decent RAID card is highly recommended.

Going to use intel ich10r for now. I might get a raid card someday but it's not in the cards at the moment.

mattspalace

I been Dolk'ed Senior
You should be fine using the onboard raid controller - I think there's a pretty good sticky related to Intel Matrix Raid Arrays - I highly recommend giving that a read.
It's fast though, not SSD fast, but not a whole lot slower - especially for day to day ops. I believe you can run raid 0+5 and get some very good results.

OP
A

Aynjell

You should be fine using the onboard raid controller - I think there's a pretty good sticky related to Intel Matrix Raid Arrays - I highly recommend giving that a read.
It's fast though, not SSD fast, but not a whole lot slower - especially for day to day ops. I believe you can run raid 0+5 and get some very good results.

My 750's are storage only. I have Velociraptor's for main drive.

:comp:

OP
A

Aynjell

ah, yeah you can run raid 5 with the onboard raid controller no problem. That 0+5 setup would smoke your velociraptors though. :D