• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

4 wire juice for 3 pin fan monitoring?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dgk

Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2001
Location
Delray Beach FL
Rumor has it that using the standard 4 wire power connectors is better than using the 3 pin onboard fan connectors because that way none of the power has to go through the MB and heat it up or stress it. That does make some sense to me.

I wouldn't mind going that route and I know that I would just need to hook up the fan to the yellow (12 volt) power wire and one of the black ground wires. But, I also want the fan monitored, and that only happens through the onboard 3 pin connectors.

So, can I split the wires with two going to the 4 wire connectors (y plugs are cheap) and the third to the MB monitoring pin? Which wires on the 3 pin fans are the power and which one goes to which pin on the (A7V in my case) MB?

Does this make sense to anyone? Just wondering.
 

DE

Registered
Joined
Feb 4, 2001
dgk (Feb 23, 2001 08:57 a.m.):
Rumor has it that using the standard 4 wire power connectors is better than using the 3 pin onboard fan connectors because that way none of the power has to go through the MB and heat it up or stress it. That does make some sense to me.

I wouldn't mind going that route and I know that I would just need to hook up the fan to the yellow (12 volt) power wire and one of the black ground wires. But, I also want the fan monitored, and that only happens through the onboard 3 pin connectors.

So, can I split the wires with two going to the 4 wire connectors (y plugs are cheap) and the third to the MB monitoring pin? Which wires on the 3 pin fans are the power and which one goes to which pin on the (A7V in my case) MB?

Does this make sense to anyone? Just wondering.


As I understand it, the RPM monitoring is a make/break to ground. So the rpm wire alone may work. If not the rpm and ground to mother board, then ground and power to the 4 way? Anyone done this. There shouldn't be any ground problem with running the power connector ground and MB fan ground together should there?

DE
 

jonk

New Member
Joined
Feb 15, 2001
I'm running a 120mm YSTech off of the PS with the tach lead to the mobo header. This works, but I'm not convinced that the rpm reported is accurate.
 

markedmundb

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Kent, UK
I tried when I ran my Delta. It worked a treat. AFAIK, it's as accurate as running the fan from a 3-pin mobo header.

The red & Black wires are the power (red- +12V, black= 0V) and the yellow/blue is the RPM monitoring.