• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How Fiber Optics Work

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
As always Ian has given us a very informative article. I'd just like to add to it from a different angle, that of the cable installer. The technical part of fiber I have little to no knowledge of, that's why I liked Ian's article. My little blurb is more about the actual systems that are being put in place. One note that I do have for Ian..although the theoretical is in the thousands, the actual is usually limited to around the equivalent of 100 twisted pair copper/fiber. I don't know why this is, but I'd suspect it's the engineers playing it safe.

I work for an underground construction company. For the last few years we have been putting in fiber to the home systems in small rural towns in Minnesota and North Dakota. We have been installing 2 types of systems, pure fiber and hybrid.

Pure fiber systems are just that, fiber right to the back of the house. The term is a bit misleading, as at the back of the house there is still a small fiber to copper converter. It's usually housed in a small (aprox. 1 foot wide by 1.5 foot tall by 3 inches deep) grey plastic enclosure which is mounted to the house. it draws it's power from the house electrical(a small price to pay for the speed).