• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

4GHZ OC adding 4 GIG of ram making unstable?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

zazzn

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Location
Bay area
Hi guys,

I'm not new to overclocking, been doing it since my P133 days ;)

Anyhow, i've come across the strangest thing. I've added 4more gigs of G skill 2000MHZ trident ram but my machine becomes completely un-bootable when both kits in. I've booted successfully with both kits separately and the system has been prime 95 stable for my 3-4 HR test. So I'm not quite sure what is going on with the memory because both work it's just when it's in the board together nothing works as I expect. Any ideas?
 

Neuromancer

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Location
Tau'ri
Give a bump to your northbridge voltage or lower memory speed.

LOL I did not notice this was a p55 setup.

Same thing though bump "northbridge" voltage :) VTT/QPI PLL.
 
Last edited:

redduc900

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Portland, OR
Besides the DDR3-2000MHz RAM, list the rest of your system spec's including the QPI/VTT voltage at the current 10x DRAM multiplier.
 
OP
Z

zazzn

New Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2009
Location
Bay area
Thanks guys I'll try upping it...

My comp specs are

P55 UD2 (gigabyte)
8GIG Gskill Trident 2000MHZ
I5 570
PC power and cooling 610 W psu
Radeon 5870 vid card

Running 4.0GHZ @ 200 ram @ 2000 MHZ 1.375 Volts.
1 WD 1TB black edition - win 7 on this.
1 Seagate 7200 1TB drive - win xp on this
 

Rich'[ard]

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2008
Location
Melb, AUS
Give a bump to your northbridge voltage or lower memory speed.

LOL I did not notice this was a p55 setup.

Same thing though bump "northbridge" voltage :) VTT/QPI PLL.
loll, funny enough i was just about to post the exact same thing...until i realised this was a socket 1366/1156 section post...:bang head: